- Independent school for boys and girls
Aldenham Prep School: entry, assessments, dates and fees
Elstree, Hertfordshire, WD6 3AJ
Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website
Can we apply, and when?
For September 2028 entry
- Not published yetChecked
Registration closes
- Not published
Places
Fees at 4+, day
£6,321a term
2026–27 school year, including VAT
Checked, source: Aldenham School, checked
Aldenham Prep School sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.
How entry works
Ways in, and how children are assessed
Aldenham Prep School takes new pupils at 4+ and 7+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.
4+ entry
How children are assessed: an interview, a reference from the current school and a play-based observation.
Registration closes: Not yet published (for September 2028 entry)
Other ways in: 7+Places, tests and registration for each
7+ entry
How children are assessed: a reference from the current school.
Source: Aldenham School, checked
More about entry from our guide
This page covers entry to Aldenham Prep School only. Its senior school, Aldenham School, has its own page.
4+ (Reception)
Reception entry combines a play-based session, an interview and a reference or report from current schoolAldenham Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham Prep School.The source says: a satisfactory report from the prospective pupil’s previous school or Nursery;
View the official source. Registration, assessment and offer dates for September 2028 entry are not yet published.
- What the school assesses: interviewAldenham Prep School: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says:
The admissions procedure at 4+ takes the form of a playgroup activity and interview.
View the official source; informal play-based assessmentAldenham Prep School: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says:The aim of the session is to assess your child informally through friendly, age appropriate activities.
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolAldenham Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham Prep School.The source says:a satisfactory report from the prospective pupil’s previous school or Nursery;
View the official source
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Aldenham Prep School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Children can be registered at any time but should be registered by the latest in the September in the year before they start.View the official source |
| Assessment | Aldenham Prep School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Children can be registered at any time but should be registered by the latest in the September in the year before they start.View the official source |
| Offers | Aldenham Prep School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Children can be registered at any time but should be registered by the latest in the September in the year before they start.View the official source |
7+ (Year 3)
Year 3 applicants are asked for a reference or report from current schoolAldenham Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham Prep School.The source says: a satisfactory report from the prospective pupil’s previous school or Nursery;
View the official source. The 7+ assessment date for September 2027 entry is Aldenham Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Our 7+ Assessments will take place on Wednesday 28th January 2026.
View the official source.
- What the school assesses: reference or report from current schoolAldenham Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham Prep School.The source says:
a satisfactory report from the prospective pupil’s previous school or Nursery;
View the official source
Entry in September 2027
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Assessment | Aldenham Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Our 7+ Assessments will take place on Wednesday 28th January 2026.View the official source |
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Aldenham Prep School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Our 7+ Assessments will take place on Wednesday 28th January 2026.View the official source |
| Assessment | Aldenham Prep School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Our 7+ Assessments will take place on Wednesday 28th January 2026.View the official source |
| Offers | Aldenham Prep School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Aldenham School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Our 7+ Assessments will take place on Wednesday 28th January 2026.View the official source |
Key dates
4+ dates for September 2028 entry
Not published yet: Registration closes for 4+ entry
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Dates for the other ways in7+
7+ entry, September 2027
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
At a glance
Aldenham Prep School in brief
tap a value for its source
- Ages
- 3 to 11AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says:
Aldenham Prep School provides an exceptional day education for girls and boys aged 3 to 11, nurturing each child within a warm, inclusive, and supportive environment.
View the official source - The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
- Ways in
- 4+, 7+
- The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
- Day or boarding
- day pupils only
- Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
- Registration fee
- £180VAT not stated by the school
- Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.
Fees
From £6,321 a term, including VAT
- 4+ entry, day
- £6,321 a term, including VAT
- 7+ entry, day
- £6,810 a term, including VAT
Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.
the published fees include VAT
Registration fee: £180 (VAT not stated by the school).
Deposit when you accept a day place: £1,500.
Source: Aldenham School, checked
Aldenham Prep's fees for 2026–27Aldenham Prep School: Academic yearChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says: Termly and Annual Fees 2026/2027
View the official source include VAT. There are two rates: one for Reception and a higher one from Year 3.
| Joining at | Day |
|---|---|
| 4+ | £6,321 per term (including VAT)Aldenham Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says: School Stage: Pre Prep (Reception to Year 2) Per Term or Part Thereof: £6,321.00View the official source |
| 7+ | £6,810 per term (including VAT)Aldenham Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says: School Stage: Prep (Year 3 to Year 6) Per Term or Part Thereof: £6,810.00View the official source |
- Registration fee: £180Aldenham Prep School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says:
Payable on registration and non refundable. £180.00
View the official source - Acceptance deposit (day): £1,500Aldenham Prep School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says:
Payable for each student on acceptance of a place and set off against the final term’s extra’s bill (and the balance refunded). This is not refunded if the place is not taken up. £1,500.00
View the official source
Bursaries and scholarships
Help with fees
- Bursaries (help with fees)
- Not checked yet.
- Scholarships
- Not checked yet.
Open days
Next: Open Morning, Sat 15 May 2027
Coming up: Open Morning
Source: Aldenham Prep School, checked
The school lists one dated open morning for the Prep.
What is distinctive about applying to Aldenham Prep
Accepting a place carries a deposit of £1,500Aldenham Prep School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says: Payable for each student on acceptance of a place and set off against the final term’s extra’s bill (and the balance refunded). This is not refunded if the place is not taken up. £1,500.00
View the official source, on top of the £180Aldenham Prep School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Aldenham School.The source says: Payable on registration and non refundable. £180.00
View the official source registration fee. Both are listed in the fees section above.
We found no bursary or scholarship scheme for Prep entry on the school's pages, so none appears here. We will add one if the school publishes it.
Official documents and sources
7 sources, each kept as an archived copy
- Aldenham Prep School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Aldenham Prep School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Aldenham Prep School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Aldenham Prep School
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Aldenham School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Aldenham School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Aldenham School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 18 Oct 2026
ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Aldenham Prep School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page