Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school for boys and girls

Bradfield College: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Bradfield College, Bradfield, Berkshire, RG7 6AU

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

For September 2027 entry

  • Registration closes

    Not published yet
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees at 13+, day

    £12,400a term

    2026–27 school year, including VAT

    Checked, source: Bradfield College, checked

Your next steps for 13+ entry

  1. Next: Scholarship assessments: sport (round one)

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  2. Coming up: Scholarship applications close: music, art & design, drama, all-rounder, academic

    in about 8 weeks

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  3. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: sport (girls final)

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

Bradfield College sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

Bradfield College takes new pupils at 13+ and 16+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 13+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, an interview, a group activity, a reference from the current school, the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share) and common entrance. Tests are taken in Year 6, with a place offered ahead of entry.

Other ways in: 16+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 16+ entry

    How children are assessed: an interview, a reference from the current school, GCSE grade requirements, online test other and taster day.

Source: Bradfield College, checked

More about entry from our guide

13+ (Year 9)

The school describes the 13+ timetable by year group rather than by date, and two of its documents give different months for 13+ offers, so we show only the steps. Year 7 and 8 entry is through St Andrew's, a separately named prep school in the same group.

  • What the school assesses: ISEB Common EntranceBradfield College: Common entranceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Success in the Common Academic Scholarship, the Bradfield College Scholarship, Common Entrance or Bradfield Entrance Examinations. We also accept the Prep School Baccalaureate.View the official source; group or team activityBradfield College: Group activityChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Candidates will participate in a problem solving challenge – (60 minutes).View the official source; interviewBradfield College: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: One to one interviews (Academic and Pastoral/Co-curricular)View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestBradfield College: Iseb pretestChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: All prospective Year 9 pupils have to take the ISEB Common Pre-test in Year 6View the official source; school's own English assessmentBradfield College: Own englishChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Bradfield Entrance Tests (Maths and English) – January of Year 8 for pupils coming from overseas, or who are not at a Prep SchoolView the official source; school's own maths assessmentBradfield College: Own mathsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Bradfield Entrance Tests (Maths and English) – January of Year 8 for pupils coming from overseas, or who are not at a Prep SchoolView the official source; reference or report from current schoolBradfield College: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: A Headmaster’s or Headmistress’ reference from the pupil’s current schoolView the official source
  • First assessment taken in: Year 6Bradfield College: Pre test year groupChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: All prospective Year 9 pupils have to take the ISEB Common Pre-test in Year 6View the official source
  • Offers made early for deferred entry: YesBradfield College: Deferred offerChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: STAGE 5 – OFFER OF A PLACE – MARCH YEAR 6 AND YEAR 7/8 FOR LATE APPLICANTSView the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Bradfield College: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Scholarship & bursary dates for 2027 entryView the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Bursary application byAwaiting confirmationBradfield College: Bursary deadline (2027)Official sources disagree; we are confirming this with the publisher.View the official source
Scholarship application byMonday 12 October 2026 (sport); Monday 14 December 2026 (music, art & design, drama, all-rounder, academic)Bradfield College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | 12 October 2026 | Closing date for 13+ Sports Scholarship entries Closing date for all Sixth Form (16+) Scholarship entries |View the official source
Scholarship assessmentSaturday 14 November 2026 (sport (round one)); Monday 1 February 2027 (sport (girls final)); Tuesday 2 February 2027 (music & choral; sport (boys final); drama); Thursday 4 February 2027 (all-rounder); Thursday 4 February 2027 (art & design); Monday 22 February 2027 to Wednesday 24 February 2027 (academic)Bradfield College: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | 14 November 2026 | Round One Assessment for 13+ Sports Scholarship |View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesBradfield College: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Bradfield College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Scholarship & bursary dates for 2027 entryView the official source
AssessmentBradfield College: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Bradfield College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Scholarship & bursary dates for 2027 entryView the official source
OffersBradfield College: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Bradfield College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Scholarship & bursary dates for 2027 entryView the official source

16+ (sixth form, Year 12)

Sixth-form applicants attend an assessment afternoon on Saturday 7 November 2026Bradfield College: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | 7 November 2026 | Sixth Form Assessment Day at Bradfield College |View the official source. The school's pages give two different bursary deadlines for this round, so we are checking it.

  • What the school assesses: GCSE grade requirementsBradfield College: Gcse requirementsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: We are looking for a sound performance at GCSE – our expectation is that candidates would achieve Grade 6 in at least six subjects, with a minimum of Grade 5 in English Language and Maths.View the official source; interviewBradfield College: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Candidates will have a formal interview, and will have the opportunity to attend taster sessions in their chosen subjects.View the official source; online testBradfield College: Online test otherChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: All candidates will take online cognitive ability tests – these can be taken at home and the sessions will be invigilated on Teams.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolBradfield College: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: A Headmaster’s or Headmistress’ reference from the pupil’s current schoolView the official source; taster or assessment dayBradfield College: Taster dayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Candidates will have a formal interview, and will have the opportunity to attend taster sessions in their chosen subjects.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Bradfield College: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Key dates for 2027 Sixth Form entryView the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
AssessmentSaturday 7 November 2026Bradfield College: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | 7 November 2026 | Sixth Form Assessment Day at Bradfield College |View the official source
Bursary application byAwaiting confirmationBradfield College: Bursary deadline (2027)Official sources disagree; we are confirming this with the publisher.View the official source
Scholarship application byMonday 12 October 2026Bradfield College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | 12 October 2026 | Closing date for Sixth Form Scholarship applications |View the official source
Scholarship assessmentTuesday 10 November 2026 (sport; music, choral & art; drama); Thursday 12 November 2026 (academic)Bradfield College: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | 10 November 2026 | 16+ Sports Scholarship Assessment 16+ Music, Choral & Art Scholarship Assessment 16+ Drama Scholarship Assessment |View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesBradfield College: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Bradfield College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Key dates for 2027 Sixth Form entryView the official source
AssessmentBradfield College: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Bradfield College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Key dates for 2027 Sixth Form entryView the official source
OffersBradfield College: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Bradfield College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Key dates for 2027 Sixth Form entryView the official source

Key dates

13+ dates for September 2027 entry

Bradfield College

  1. Done: Scholarship applications close: sport

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  2. Next: Scholarship assessments: sport (round one)

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  3. Coming up: Scholarship applications close: music, art & design, drama, all-rounder, academic

    in about 8 weeks

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  4. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: sport (girls final)

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  5. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: music & choral; sport (boys final); drama

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  6. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: all-rounder

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  7. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: art & design

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  8. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: academic

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  9. Not published yet: Bursary applications close

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

    Only if you are applying for help with fees

Dates for the other ways in16+

16+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Scholarship applications close

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  2. Next: Entrance tests

  3. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: sport; music, choral & art; drama

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  4. Coming up: Scholarship assessments: academic

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  5. Not published yet: Bursary applications close

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

    Only if you are applying for help with fees

A year younger? 13+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
  1. Not published yet: Registration closes for 13+ entry

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

  2. Not published yet: Entrance tests

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

  3. Not published yet: Offers sent

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

At a glance

Bradfield College in brief

tap a value for its source

Ages
13 to 18AgesChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Bradfield College Coeducational boarding and day school 13 - 18View the official source
The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
Ways in
13+, 16+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Scholarships
8 kinds
Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
Day or boarding
day pupils and boarders
Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
Help with fees
Yes, up to 100%
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Registration fee
£360VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £12,400 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, day
£12,400 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, full boarding
£20,250 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, day
£12,400 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, full boarding
£20,250 a term, including VAT

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

the published fees include VAT

Registration fee: £360 (VAT not stated by the school).

Deposit when you accept a day place: £3,000.

Source: Bradfield College, checked

Joining atDayFull boarding
13+£12,400 per term (including VAT)Bradfield College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | Day | £12,400 | £37,200 |View the official source£20,250 per term (including VAT)Bradfield College: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | Boarding | £20,250 | £60,750 |View the official source
16+£12,400 per term (including VAT)Bradfield College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | Day | £12,400 | £37,200 |View the official source£20,250 per term (including VAT)Bradfield College: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | Boarding | £20,250 | £60,750 |View the official source
  • Registration fee: £360Bradfield College: Registration feeChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Registration Fee – £360View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (day): £3,000Bradfield College: Deposit dayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Acceptance Deposit for 2027 – £3,000View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (boarding): £3,000Bradfield College: Deposit boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Acceptance Deposit for 2027 – £3,000View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to 100% of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available, up to 100% of the fees. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
For academic, all rounder, art, choral, design and technology, drama, music and sport, at 13+ and 16+ entry, worth up to 0% of the fees.

Source: Bradfield College, checked

  • Largest bursary: up to 100%Bradfield College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Bursaries are means-tested and parents on low incomes can receive a discount of up to 100% on tuition fees.View the official source of fees, means-tested
  • Scholarships offered: academicBradfield College: AcademicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Stevens Academic ScholarshipView the official source, all-rounderBradfield College: All rounderChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Dr Gray All Rounder ScholarshipView the official source, artBradfield College: ArtChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Art and Design ScholarshipView the official source, choralBradfield College: ChoralChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Music and Choral ScholarshipsView the official source, design and technologyBradfield College: Design technologyChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: What makes a pupil eligible to apply for a Design scholarship?View the official source, dramaBradfield College: DramaChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Drama ScholarshipView the official source, musicBradfield College: MusicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Music and Choral ScholarshipsView the official source, sportBradfield College: SportChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Sports ScholarshipView the official source
  • Scholarship value: no fee reduction (scholarships are honorary)Bradfield College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Scholarships do not attract a reduction on fees.View the official source
  • Scholarship entry points: 13+Bradfield College: 13 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: The assessments for 13+ scholarships take place at the College in the Lent Term prior to the academic year of entry, except for the Sports Assessment process which begins in the Autumn Term of Year 8.View the official source, 16+ (sixth form)Bradfield College: 16 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Sixth Form scholarship assessments take place in the November before the academic year of entry.View the official source

Open days

Next: Open Morning, Sat 7 Nov 2026
  1. Done: Saturday Morning Tour (passed)

    booking needed

  2. Coming up: Open Morning

    10:30am

  3. Coming up: Saturday Morning Tour

    booking needed

  4. Coming up: Saturday Morning Tour

    booking needed

  5. Coming up: Saturday Morning Tour

    booking needed

  6. Coming up: Saturday Morning Tour

    booking needed

  7. Coming up: Saturday Morning Tour

    booking needed

Source: Bradfield College, checked

What is distinctive about applying to Bradfield

Bradfield offers full boarding at £20,250 per term (including VAT)Bradfield College: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | Boarding | £20,250 | £60,750 |View the official source a term and day places at £12,400 per term (including VAT)Bradfield College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: | Day | £12,400 | £37,200 |View the official source, and it has added a new day-boarding option in the middle. The deposit is £3,000Bradfield College: Deposit dayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Acceptance Deposit for 2027 – £3,000View the official source.

Scholarships carry no fee reduction (scholarships are honorary)Bradfield College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Scholarships do not attract a reduction on fees.View the official source; financial help comes through means-tested bursaries of up to 100%Bradfield College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Bradfield College.The source says: Bursaries are means-tested and parents on low incomes can receive a discount of up to 100% on tuition fees.View the official source of fees. Scholarship deadlines differ by discipline, with sport the earliest.

Official documents and sources

12 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Bradfield College, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page