Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school

Cranleigh Prep: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Cranleigh School, Horseshoe Lane, Cranleigh, Surrey GU6 8QH

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

For September 2027 entry

  • Registration closes

    Not published yet
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees at 11+, day

    £30,480a year

    2026–27 school year, including VAT

    Checked, source: Cranleigh School, checked

Your next steps for 11+ entry

  1. Next: Scholarship applications close

    in about 6 weeks

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

Cranleigh Prep sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

Cranleigh Prep takes new pupils at 7+ and 11+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 11+ entry

    How children are assessed: an interview and the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share).

    Route through the school: September 2027 is Cranleigh Prep’s final Year 7 intakeRoute through the school, 11+ entryChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: September 2027 will be Cranleigh Prep’s final Year 7 intake.View the official source

Other ways in: 7+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 7+ entry

    How children are assessed: not checked yet.

Source: Cranleigh School, checked

More about entry from our guide

We could not confirm an external entry point other than 11+ from the school's pages, so this page deals with Year 7 only. The school does not publish 11+ registration, assessment or offer dates on its website; we will add them when it does.

This page covers entry to Cranleigh Prep only. Its senior school, Cranleigh School, has its own page.

11+ (Year 7)

Year 7 candidates take the ISEB Common Pre-TestCranleigh Prep: Iseb pretestChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Year 6 pupils sit the ISEB Common Pre-Test at their own Prep Schools in the October/November before entry.View the official source and have an interviewCranleigh Prep: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Assessment day includes a Cranleigh School visit and interview so we can get to know your child as an individual.View the official source. Scholarships are offered at this entry point, and applications close on Monday 30 November 2026Cranleigh Prep: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Deadline for Scholarship applications for 11+ 2027 is Monday 30th November 2026.View the official source.

  • What the school assesses: interviewCranleigh Prep: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Assessment day includes a Cranleigh School visit and interview so we can get to know your child as an individual.View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestCranleigh Prep: Iseb pretestChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Year 6 pupils sit the ISEB Common Pre-Test at their own Prep Schools in the October/November before entry.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Cranleigh Prep: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Deadline for Scholarship applications for 11+ 2027 is Monday 30th November 2026.View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Scholarship application byMonday 30 November 2026Cranleigh Prep: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Deadline for Scholarship applications for 11+ 2027 is Monday 30th November 2026.View the official source

Key dates

11+ dates for September 2027 entry

Cranleigh School

  1. Next: Scholarship applications close

    in about 6 weeks

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

At a glance

Cranleigh Prep in brief

tap a value for its source

Ages
7 to 13AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh Prep.The source says: Cranleigh Prep welcomes children aged 7 to 13* (Years 3 to 8) to our vibrant day and boarding community, set within 280 acres of stunning Surrey Hills countryside.View the official source
The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
Ways in
7+, 11+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Help with fees
Yes
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Scholarships
7 kinds
Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
Day or boarding
day pupils and boarders
Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
Registration fee
£240VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £30,480 a year, including VAT
11+ entry, day
£30,480 a year, including VAT
11+ entry, full boarding
£36,795 a year, including VAT

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

the published fees include VAT

Registration fee: £240 (VAT not stated by the school).

Source: Cranleigh School, checked

Cranleigh Prep publishes fees for the whole year rather than per term. For 2026–27Cranleigh Prep: Academic yearChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: For the Academic Year 2026/2027View the official source, a Year 7 boarding place costs £36,795 per year (including VAT)Cranleigh Prep: BoardingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Boarding – Years 7 and 8 – £36,795 (inclusive of VAT)View the official source and a day place £30,480 per year (including VAT)Cranleigh Prep: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Day – Years 7 and 8 – £30,480 (inclusive of VAT)View the official source.

Joining atDayFull boarding
11+£30,480 per year (including VAT)Cranleigh Prep: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Day – Years 7 and 8 – £30,480 (inclusive of VAT)View the official source£36,795 per year (including VAT)Cranleigh Prep: BoardingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Boarding – Years 7 and 8 – £36,795 (inclusive of VAT)View the official source
  • Registration fee: £240Cranleigh Prep: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Registration Fee (non-refundable) | £240View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to a share of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
For academic, art, design and technology, drama, music, other and sport, at 11+ entry, worth up to 15% of the fees.

Source: Cranleigh School, checked

Scholarships at 11+ are worth up to 15%Cranleigh Prep: Max percentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Financial Recognition: Scholarships can carry a financial award of up to 15% of school fees.View the official source of fees. Means-tested bursaries are also offered (bursaries available: YesCranleigh Prep: AvailableChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Fee assistance (means-tested bursaries) for eligible familiesView the official source), but we have not found a published maximum award, so none is shown.

  • Scholarships offered: academicCranleigh Prep: AcademicChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Academic ScholarshipsView the official source, artCranleigh Prep: ArtChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Art ScholarshipsView the official source, design and technologyCranleigh Prep: Design technologyChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Design Engineering & Product Design ScholarshipsView the official source, dramaCranleigh Prep: DramaChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Drama and Performing Arts ScholarshipsView the official source, musicCranleigh Prep: MusicChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Music ScholarshipsView the official source, otherCranleigh Prep: OtherChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Apply for a Performing Arts ScholarshipView the official source, sportCranleigh Prep: SportChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Sport ScholarshipsView the official source
  • Largest scholarship: up to 15%Cranleigh Prep: Max percentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Financial Recognition: Scholarships can carry a financial award of up to 15% of school fees.View the official source of fees
  • Scholarship entry points: 11+Cranleigh Prep: 11 plusChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Prep School Scholarships at Cranleigh recognise, reward, and nurture exceptional talent at the 11+ (Year 7) entry point.View the official source

Open days

Not published yet

We found no dated open events for the Prep on the school's pages, so none is listed. We will add them when the school publishes them.

What is distinctive about applying to Cranleigh Prep

Timing matters here. The school's age range of 7 to 13Cranleigh Prep: Age rangeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh Prep.The source says: Cranleigh Prep welcomes children aged 7 to 13* (Years 3 to 8) to our vibrant day and boarding community, set within 280 acres of stunning Surrey Hills countryside.View the official source applies only until Years 7 and 8 move to the senior school from September 2028, so September 2027 is the last chance to join the Prep in Year 7.

Registration costs £240Cranleigh Prep: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh School.The source says: Registration Fee (non-refundable) | £240View the official source. The school's pages give two different day acceptance deposits, so we are checking the figure with the school. The Prep also offers flexi boardingCranleigh Prep: FlexiChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Cranleigh Prep.The source says: Flexi and ad hoc boarding is also available.View the official source; flexi fees were recorded by only one of our two checks, so we have not shown them.

Official documents and sources

6 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Cranleigh Prep, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page