Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school for boys and girls

King's Preparatory School, Rochester: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Chadlington House, Lockington Grove, Rochester, Kent, ME1 1RH

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

For September 2027 entry

  • Registration closes

    Not published yet
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees at 11+, day

    £7,785a term

    2026–27 school year, including VAT

    Checked, source: King's School Rochester, checked

Your next steps for 11+ entry

  1. Next: Scholarship applications close

    in about 5 weeks

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  2. Coming up: Scholarship assessments

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

King’s Preparatory School sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

King’s Preparatory School takes new pupils at 8+, 9+, 10+ and 11+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 11+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, a piece of creative writing, an interview and a reference from the current school.

Other ways in: 8+, 9+ and 10+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 8+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, a piece of creative writing and a reference from the current school.

  • 9+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, a piece of creative writing and a reference from the current school.

  • 10+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, a piece of creative writing and a reference from the current school.

Source: King's Preparatory School, Rochester, checked

More about entry from our guide

This page covers entry to King's Preparatory School, Rochester only. Its senior school, King's School Rochester, has its own page.

8+ (Year 4)

Year 4 applicants complete a creative or extended writing taskKing’s Preparatory School: Own creative writingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source alongside the school's own English, maths and reasoning assessments, and the school asks their current school for a reference.

  • What the school assesses: creative or extended writing taskKing’s Preparatory School: Own creative writingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own English assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolKing’s Preparatory School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: Upon receipt of the registration form, we request a school reference report from your child’s current school.View the official source

9+ (Year 5)

Year 5 entry uses the same assessments as Year 4, and the day fee is unchanged.

  • What the school assesses: creative or extended writing taskKing’s Preparatory School: Own creative writingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own English assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolKing’s Preparatory School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: Upon receipt of the registration form, we request a school reference report from your child’s current school.View the official source

10+ (Year 6)

Year 6 applicants sit the same assessments. The day fee rises to £7,785 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 10+ Year 6 £7,785 per term (incl VAT)View the official source in Year 6.

  • What the school assesses: creative or extended writing taskKing’s Preparatory School: Own creative writingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own English assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolKing’s Preparatory School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: Upon receipt of the registration form, we request a school reference report from your child’s current school.View the official source

11+ (Year 7)

Year 7 candidates also have an interviewKing’s Preparatory School: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: All children who have registered an interest in joining the School will be invited to an assessment and interview with the Headmaster of the Preparatory School.View the official source. Scholarship applications for September 2027 close on Friday 27 November 2026King’s Preparatory School: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: Friday 27 November 2026 | Closing date for Scholarship ApplicationsView the official source, and scholarship assessments take place in the week commencing Monday 18 January 2027King’s Preparatory School: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: w/c 18 January 2027 | Scholarship assessmentsView the official source. The school does not publish its other 11+ dates on its website; we will add them when it does.

  • What the school assesses: interviewKing’s Preparatory School: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: All children who have registered an interest in joining the School will be invited to an assessment and interview with the Headmaster of the Preparatory School.View the official source; creative or extended writing taskKing’s Preparatory School: Own creative writingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own English assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentKing’s Preparatory School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: The assessment includes verbal and non-verbal reasoning, Maths, English and creative writing.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolKing’s Preparatory School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: Upon receipt of the registration form, we request a school reference report from your child’s current school.View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Scholarship application byFriday 27 November 2026King’s Preparatory School: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: Friday 27 November 2026 | Closing date for Scholarship ApplicationsView the official source
Scholarship assessmentweek commencing Monday 18 January 2027King’s Preparatory School: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: w/c 18 January 2027 | Scholarship assessmentsView the official source

Key dates

11+ dates for September 2027 entry

King's School Rochester

  1. Next: Scholarship applications close

    in about 5 weeks

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  2. Coming up: Scholarship assessments

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

At a glance

King’s Preparatory School in brief

tap a value for its source

Ages
8 to 13AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: Ages 8-13View the official source
The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
Help with fees
Yes
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Scholarships
6 kinds
Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
Day or boarding
day pupils and boarders
Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
Ways in
8+, 9+, 10+, 11+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Registration fee
£120VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £7,785 a term, including VAT
8+ entry, day
£6,960 a term, including VAT
9+ entry, day
£6,960 a term, including VAT
10+ entry, day
£7,785 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, day
£7,785 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, full boarding
£11,678 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, weekly boarding
£11,678 a term, including VAT

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

the published fees include VAT

Registration fee: £120 (VAT not stated by the school).

Deposit when you accept a day place: £1,000.

Source: King's School Rochester, checked

Fees for 2026–27King’s Preparatory School: Academic yearChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 2026-2027 FeesView the official source include VAT. Boarding fees are listed for Year 7, where weekly and full boarding cost the same, £11,678 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: BoardingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 11+ Year 7 to Year 8 £11,678 per term (incl VAT)View the official source. Flexi boarding is also offered; we have not shown a flexi rate.

Joining atDayFull boardingWeekly boarding
8+£6,960 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 8+ Year 4 £6,960 per term (incl VAT)View the official source––
9+£6,960 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 9+ Year 5 £6,960 per term (incl VAT)View the official source––
10+£7,785 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 10+ Year 6 £7,785 per term (incl VAT)View the official source––
11+£7,785 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 11+ Year 7 £7,785 per term (incl VAT)View the official source£11,678 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: BoardingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 11+ Year 7 to Year 8 £11,678 per term (incl VAT)View the official source£11,678 per term (including VAT)King’s Preparatory School: Weekly boardingChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: 11+ Year 7 to Year 8 £11,678 per term (incl VAT)View the official source
  • Registration fee: £120King’s Preparatory School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: Parents may register their child at any time before or after a visit by completing the online registration form and paying a non-refundable £120 registration fee.View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (day): £1,000King’s Preparatory School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: A £1,000 deposit is required, which is refundable against the final term’s fees but non-refundable if your child does not join the school.View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to a share of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
For academic, art, choral, drama, music and sport, at 11+ entry.

Source: King's School Rochester, checked

Means-tested bursaries are offered (bursaries available: YesKing’s Preparatory School: AvailableChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: Scholarships and bursaries are offered in both the Junior School and Senior School.View the official source), but we have not found a published maximum, so none is shown. Scholarships are offered at 11+King’s Preparatory School: 11 plusChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: These scholarships are available to internal and external pupils entering Year 7 (11+), Year 9 (13+) and Year 12 (16+).View the official source in six areas, listed below; we have not shown a scholarship value.

  • Scholarships offered: academicKing’s Preparatory School: AcademicChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: We offer scholarships in both the Junior School and the Senior School to acknowledge outstanding achievement and commitment in the following areas:View the official source, artKing’s Preparatory School: ArtChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: We offer scholarships in both the Junior School and the Senior School to acknowledge outstanding achievement and commitment in the following areas:View the official source, choralKing’s Preparatory School: ChoralChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: Cathedral Choristership: Open to Junior School boys and girls entering into Years 4 to 7 (ages 8 to 11).View the official source, dramaKing’s Preparatory School: DramaChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: We offer scholarships in both the Junior School and the Senior School to acknowledge outstanding achievement and commitment in the following areas:View the official source, musicKing’s Preparatory School: MusicChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: We offer scholarships in both the Junior School and the Senior School to acknowledge outstanding achievement and commitment in the following areas:View the official source, sportKing’s Preparatory School: SportChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: We offer scholarships in both the Junior School and the Senior School to acknowledge outstanding achievement and commitment in the following areas:View the official source
  • Scholarship entry points: 11+King’s Preparatory School: 11 plusChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: These scholarships are available to internal and external pupils entering Year 7 (11+), Year 9 (13+) and Year 12 (16+).View the official source

Open days

Next: Year 7 Open Morning, Thu 5 Nov 2026
  1. Coming up: Year 7 Open Morning

Source: King's School Rochester, checked

The school lists one open morning for Year 7 entry this term.

What is distinctive about applying to King's Prep Rochester

Year 7 is the entry point with most going on. It is the only one where the school lists an interview, and the only year for which boarding fees are shown, with weekly boardingKing’s Preparatory School: WeeklyChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's School Rochester.The source says: Preparatory School - Full & Weekly Boarding FeesView the official source priced the same as full boarding.

Families who accept a day place pay a deposit of £1,000King’s Preparatory School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: A £1,000 deposit is required, which is refundable against the final term’s fees but non-refundable if your child does not join the school.View the official source, and registration costs £120King’s Preparatory School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against King's Preparatory School, Rochester.The source says: Parents may register their child at any time before or after a visit by completing the online registration form and paying a non-refundable £120 registration fee.View the official source. Apart from the scholarship round, no assessment dates are published, so the admissions team is the place to ask.

Official documents and sources

8 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with King’s Preparatory School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page