- Independent school for boys
RGS Prep: entry, assessments, dates and fees
Maori Road, Guildford Surrey, GU1 2EL
Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website
Can we apply, and when?
For September 2027 entry
- Not published yet
Registration closes
- Not published
Places
Fees at 4+, day
£5,594a term
2026–27 school year, including VAT
Checked, source: Royal Grammar School Guildford, checked
RGS Prep sets its own tests and decides after them. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.
How entry works
Ways in, and how children are assessed
RGS Prep takes new pupils at 4+ and 7+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.
4+ entry
How children are assessed: a reference from the current school and a play-based observation.
Other ways in: 7+Places, tests and registration for each
7+ entry
20 places
How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper and a reference from the current school.
Source: Royal Grammar School Guildford, checked
More about entry from our guide
RGS Prep does not publish a dated registration deadline or offer date on its website, so neither is shown here. We will add them when the school prints them.
This page covers entry to RGS Prep only. Its senior school, Royal Grammar School Guildford, has its own page.
4+ (Reception)
Reception children have an informal play-based assessmentRGS Prep: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Reception Stay & Play (45 minute – 1 hour assessment)
View the official source, and the school asks for a report from their current setting. The September 2027 assessment, on Saturday 10 October 2026RGS Prep: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Saturday 10 October 2026
View the official source, has now passed.
- What the school assesses: informal play-based assessmentRGS Prep: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
Reception Stay & Play (45 minute – 1 hour assessment)
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolRGS Prep: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:Parents are asked for their child’s most recent School report (if applicable) and their current
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027RGS Prep: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:
View the official source
Entry in September 2027
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Assessment | Saturday 10 October 2026RGS Prep: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Saturday 10 October 2026View the official source |
| Who can apply | mixedRGS Prep: Pupils (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: From September 2027 RGS Prep will become co-educational, welcoming girls alongside boys into our school at our main entry points of Nursery, Reception and Year 3.View the official source |
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | RGS Prep: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Royal Grammar School Guildford; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:View the official source |
| Assessment | RGS Prep: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Royal Grammar School Guildford; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:View the official source |
| Offers | RGS Prep: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Royal Grammar School Guildford; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:View the official source |
7+ (Year 3)
Year 3 candidates sit the school's own English and maths assessments on Saturday 7 November 2026RGS Prep: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Saturday 7 November 2026
View the official source, and the school also asks their current school for a report.
- Places: 20RGS Prep: PlacesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
Year 3 (age 7+) – we accept on average an additional 20 pupils in Year 3
View the official source - What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentRGS Prep: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
Children will complete activities in sport and music and assessments in mathematics and English.
View the official source; school's own maths assessmentRGS Prep: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:Children will complete activities in sport and music and assessments in mathematics and English.
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolRGS Prep: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:Parents are asked for their child’s most recent School report (if applicable) and their current
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027RGS Prep: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:
View the official source
Entry in September 2027
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Assessment | Saturday 7 November 2026RGS Prep: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Saturday 7 November 2026View the official source |
| Who can apply | mixedRGS Prep: Pupils (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: From September 2027 RGS Prep will become co-educational, welcoming girls alongside boys into our school at our main entry points of Nursery, Reception and Year 3.View the official source |
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | RGS Prep: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Royal Grammar School Guildford; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:View the official source |
| Assessment | RGS Prep: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Royal Grammar School Guildford; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:View the official source |
| Offers | RGS Prep: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Royal Grammar School Guildford; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: For a September 2027 start, our next assessment dates are:View the official source |
Key dates
4+ dates for September 2027 entry
Royal Grammar School Guildford
Done: Entrance tests
Dates for the other ways in7+
7+ entry, September 2027
Next: Entrance tests
A year younger? 4+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
Not published yet: Registration closes for 4+ entry
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
At a glance
RGS Prep in brief
tap a value for its source
- Ages
- 3 to 11AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
RGS Prep is an independent school for children aged from 3-11.
View the official source - The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
- Ways in
- 4+, 7+
- The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
- Day or boarding
- day pupils only
- Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
- Help with fees
- Yes, up to 100%
- Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
- Registration fee
- £120VAT not stated by the school
- Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.
Fees
From £5,594 a term, including VAT
- 4+ entry, day
- £5,594 a term, including VAT
- 7+ entry, day
- £7,258 a term, including VAT
Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.
the published fees include VAT
Registration fee: £120 (VAT not stated by the school).
Deposit when you accept a day place: £1,600.
Source: Royal Grammar School Guildford, checked
Fees for 2026–27RGS Prep: Academic yearChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: School Fees for the Academic Year 2026 – 2027
View the official source are published including VAT. They rise from £5,594 per term (including VAT)RGS Prep: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Prep – Shell/Reception | £5,594
View the official source in Reception to £7,258 per term (including VAT)RGS Prep: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Prep – Years 3 & 4 | £7,258
View the official source in Year 3.
| Joining at | Day |
|---|---|
| 4+ | £5,594 per term (including VAT)RGS Prep: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Prep – Shell/Reception | £5,594View the official source |
| 7+ | £7,258 per term (including VAT)RGS Prep: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Prep – Years 3 & 4 | £7,258View the official source |
- Registration fee: £120RGS Prep: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
pay the non-refundable registration fee of £120 (UK pupils) or £240 (students currently studying overseas)
View the official source - Acceptance deposit (day): £1,600RGS Prep: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
paying an admission deposit of £1,600.
View the official source
Bursaries and scholarships
Bursaries up to 100% of fees
- Bursaries (help with fees)
- Available, up to 100% of the fees. They depend on a check of household income and savings. Income guide: £120,000 total annual income (the school's guide figure).
- Scholarships
- Not checked yet.
Source: Royal Grammar School Guildford, checked
Means-tested bursaries can cover up to 100%RGS Prep: Max percentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: Means-tested bursaries, providing up to 100% remission of fees, are available for pupils in Year 3 and
View the official source of fees. The school gives an income figure to help families judge whether they may qualify: £120,000 (total annual income, guide)RGS Prep: Income thresholdChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: As a broad guideline, families with a total annual income exceeding £120,000 are unlikely to be eligible for any financial assistance.
View the official source.
- Largest bursary: up to 100%RGS Prep: Max percentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
Means-tested bursaries, providing up to 100% remission of fees, are available for pupils in Year 3 and
View the official source of fees, means-tested - Income guide: £120,000 (total annual income, guide)RGS Prep: Income thresholdChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says:
As a broad guideline, families with a total annual income exceeding £120,000 are unlikely to be eligible for any financial assistance.
View the official source
Open days
Not published yet
We found no open events with a full date on the school's pages, so none is listed here. The admissions team can tell you about visits, and we will add dates once the school publishes them.
What is distinctive about applying to RGS Prep
The school is changing. RGS Prep is a school for boysRGS Prep: PupilsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: At the time of publication, the School is a boys' school but is preparing to become co-
View the official source this year, but Reception and Year 3 entry for September 2027 is mixedRGS Prep: Pupils (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: From September 2027 RGS Prep will become co-educational, welcoming girls alongside boys into our school at our main entry points of Nursery, Reception and Year 3.
View the official source, so this is the first round in which girls can apply.
Registration costs £120RGS Prep: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: pay the non-refundable registration fee of £120 (UK pupils) or £240 (students currently studying overseas)
View the official source, and the deposit on accepting a place is £1,600RGS Prep: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Royal Grammar School Guildford.The source says: paying an admission deposit of £1,600.
View the official source. The school has not yet published the Year 3 assessment date for September 2028 entry.
Official documents and sources
6 sources, each kept as an archived copy
- RGS Prep
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Royal Grammar School Guildford
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Royal Grammar School Guildford
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Royal Grammar School Guildford
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- Royal Grammar School Guildford
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Royal Grammar School Guildford
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with RGS Prep, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page