Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school

Stockport Grammar Junior School: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

  • Registration closes

    Not published yet
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees at 4+, day

    £4,000a term

    2026–27 school year, VAT not included

    Checked, source: Stockport Grammar School, checked

Stockport Grammar Junior School sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

Stockport Grammar Junior School takes new pupils at 4+ and 7+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 4+ entry

    How children are assessed: an interview, a play-based observation and taster day.

Other ways in: 7+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 7+ entry

    How children are assessed: taster day.

Source: Stockport Grammar School, checked

More about entry from our guide

This page covers entry to Stockport Grammar Junior School only. Its senior school, Stockport Grammar School, has its own page.

4+ (Reception)

Reception applicants have an interviewStockport Grammar Junior School: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Interviews and assessments for entry into Reception begin in the preceding Autumn.View the official source and an informal play-based assessmentStockport Grammar Junior School: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Children in Year 2 and below spend time in the classroom, joining in with class lessons and activities and, during their visit, the teacher will spend some one to one time getting to know them and working with them.View the official source, and spend a taster or assessment dayStockport Grammar Junior School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Applicants are invited to join us for a taster day at school, which includes an assessment.View the official source at the school.

  • What the school assesses: interviewStockport Grammar Junior School: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Interviews and assessments for entry into Reception begin in the preceding Autumn.View the official source; informal play-based assessmentStockport Grammar Junior School: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Children in Year 2 and below spend time in the classroom, joining in with class lessons and activities and, during their visit, the teacher will spend some one to one time getting to know them and working with them.View the official source; taster or assessment dayStockport Grammar Junior School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Applicants are invited to join us for a taster day at school, which includes an assessment.View the official source

7+ (Year 3)

Year 3 applicants spend a taster or assessment dayStockport Grammar Junior School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Applicants are invited to join us for a taster day at school, which includes an assessment.View the official source in school. We have not found a published date for it.

  • What the school assesses: taster or assessment dayStockport Grammar Junior School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Applicants are invited to join us for a taster day at school, which includes an assessment.View the official source

Key dates

Key dates

Dates not published yetWe add each date when the school publishes it.

At a glance

Stockport Grammar Junior School in brief

tap a value for its source

Ages
3 to 11AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Junior School 3-11 yearsView the official source
The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
Ways in
4+, 7+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Help with fees
No bursaries
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Registration fee
£75VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £4,000 a term, VAT not included
4+ entry, day
£4,000 a term, VAT not included
7+ entry, day
£4,000 a term, VAT not included

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

the published fees exclude VAT

Registration fee: £75 (VAT not stated by the school).

Source: Stockport Grammar School, checked

Stockport Grammar prints its Junior fees before VAT (the published fees exclude VATStockport Grammar Junior School: Vat treatmentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Termly fee VAT Lunches per term Annual costView the official source), so the table shows them that way. For 2026–27Stockport Grammar Junior School: Academic yearChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: The fees for the 2026-2027 school year will be:View the official source, Reception and Year 3 pay the same termly fee, £4,000 per term (excluding VAT)Stockport Grammar Junior School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Infants £4,000 £800 £230 £15,000View the official source.

Joining atDay
4+£4,000 per term (excluding VAT)Stockport Grammar Junior School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Infants £4,000 £800 £230 £15,000View the official source
7+£4,000 per term (excluding VAT)Stockport Grammar Junior School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Junior School £4,000 £800 £270 £15,210View the official source
  • Registration fee: £75Stockport Grammar Junior School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: A fee of £75 per child is applicable upon submission of the online form.View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

No bursaries published
Bursaries (help with fees)
The school does not offer bursaries.
Scholarships
Not checked yet.

Source: Stockport Grammar School, checked

Means-tested bursaries are not available for Junior School places (bursaries available: NoStockport Grammar Junior School: AvailableChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: Unfortunately we do not offer assistance with Junior School and Nursery fees.View the official source).

Open days

This year's events have passed
  1. Done: Open Event (passed)

Source: Stockport Grammar Junior School, checked

The only Junior School open event we found on the school's pages has already taken place, so none is listed. We will add the next one when the school publishes it.

What is distinctive about applying to Stockport Grammar Junior School

The school does not publish dates for registration, assessments or offers on its website; we will add them when it does.

Registration costs £75Stockport Grammar Junior School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Stockport Grammar School.The source says: A fee of £75 per child is applicable upon submission of the online form.View the official source. We did not find a published acceptance deposit, so none is shown.

Official documents and sources

5 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Stockport Grammar Junior School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page