Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school

Sutton Valence Prep School: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Church Road, Chart Sutton, Maidstone, Kent, ME17 3RF

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

  • Registration closes

    Not published yet
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees at 4+, day

    £5,549a term

    2026–27 school year, including VAT

    Checked, source: Sutton Valence School, checked

Sutton Valence Prep School sets its own tests and decides after them. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

Sutton Valence Prep School takes new pupils at 4+, 7+, 8+, 9+ and 10+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 4+ entry

    How children are assessed: not checked yet.

Other ways in: 7+, 8+, 9+ and 10+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 7+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and taster day.

  • 8+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and taster day.

  • 9+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and taster day.

  • 10+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and taster day.

More about entry from our guide

This page covers entry to Sutton Valence Prep School only. Its senior school, Sutton Valence School, has its own page.

4+ (Reception)

We have not confirmed how Reception children are assessed, so no assessment details are shown.

7+ (Year 3)

Year 3 applicants attend a taster or assessment daySutton Valence Prep School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: For entry to Years 3 to 6, pupils will be invited to spend a full day with their current year group.View the official source and take the school's own English, maths and reasoning assessments.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; taster or assessment daySutton Valence Prep School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: For entry to Years 3 to 6, pupils will be invited to spend a full day with their current year group.View the official source

8+ (Year 4)

Year 4 entry uses the same taster day and three assessments.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; taster or assessment daySutton Valence Prep School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: For entry to Years 3 to 6, pupils will be invited to spend a full day with their current year group.View the official source

9+ (Year 5)

Year 5 applicants are assessed in the same way, and the fee rises to £7,860.20 per term (including VAT)Sutton Valence Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Years 5 and 6 | £7,860.20View the official source.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; taster or assessment daySutton Valence Prep School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: For entry to Years 3 to 6, pupils will be invited to spend a full day with their current year group.View the official source

10+ (Year 6)

Year 6 entry follows the same pattern as Years 3 to 5.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSutton Valence Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: There is an assessment with the Academic Deputy Head, involving Reading, Spelling, Mathematics and Non-verbal Reasoning, to ascertain the child’s academic levels.View the official source; taster or assessment daySutton Valence Prep School: Taster dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: For entry to Years 3 to 6, pupils will be invited to spend a full day with their current year group.View the official source

Key dates

Key dates

Dates not published yetWe add each date when the school publishes it.

At a glance

Sutton Valence Prep School in brief

tap a value for its source

Ages
2 to 11AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence Prep School.The source says: Educating pupils from age 2 to 11 means we can make the most of each stage, guiding them as they become more assured, more capable and increasingly responsible for their own learning.View the official source
The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
Help with fees
Yes
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Ways in
4+, 7+, 8+, 9+, 10+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Registration fee
£120VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £5,549 a term, including VAT
4+ entry, day
£5,549 a term, including VAT
7+ entry, day
£7,263 a term, including VAT
8+ entry, day
£7,263 a term, including VAT
9+ entry, day
£7,860 a term, including VAT
10+ entry, day
£7,860 a term, including VAT

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

the published fees include VAT

Registration fee: £120 (VAT not stated by the school).

Deposit when you accept a day place: £500.

Source: Sutton Valence School, checked

The Prep's figures for 2026–27Sutton Valence Prep School: Academic yearChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Termly Fees, 2026/2027View the official source include VAT. Day fees step up at Year 3 and again at Year 5.

Joining atDay
4+£5,549 per term (including VAT)Sutton Valence Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Reception | £5,549.00View the official source
7+£7,262.60 per term (including VAT)Sutton Valence Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Years 3 and 4 | £7262.60View the official source
8+£7,262.60 per term (including VAT)Sutton Valence Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Years 3 and 4 | £7262.60View the official source
9+£7,860.20 per term (including VAT)Sutton Valence Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Years 5 and 6 | £7,860.20View the official source
10+£7,860.20 per term (including VAT)Sutton Valence Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Years 5 and 6 | £7,860.20View the official source
  • Registration fee: £120Sutton Valence Prep School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Please complete our online registration form and pay the non refundable registration fee of £120 per child.View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (day): £500Sutton Valence Prep School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: To accept your offer, a deposit of £500 is required.View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to a share of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
Not checked yet.

Source: Sutton Valence School, checked

Means-tested bursaries are available (bursaries available: YesSutton Valence Prep School: AvailableChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Bursary Policy (Prep School and Senior School)View the official source). We have not found a published maximum award or a Prep scholarship scheme, so neither is shown.

Open days

Not published yet

We found no dated open events for the Prep on the school's pages, so none is listed. The admissions team can tell you about visits.

What is distinctive about applying to Sutton Valence Prep

The Prep describes itself as non-selectiveSutton Valence Prep School: SelectivityChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: No, the Prep School is non-selective.View the official source, and from Year 3 every applicant follows the same route: a taster day with English, maths and reasoning assessments.

Registration costs £120Sutton Valence Prep School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: Please complete our online registration form and pay the non refundable registration fee of £120 per child.View the official source, and families who accept a place pay a deposit of £500Sutton Valence Prep School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against Sutton Valence School.The source says: To accept your offer, a deposit of £500 is required.View the official source. With no published timetable, the admissions team can say when the next taster day falls.

Official documents and sources

7 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Sutton Valence Prep School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page