- Independent school for boys and girls
The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: entry, assessments, dates and fees
Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website
Can we apply, and when?
For September 2026 entry
- Not published yet
Registration closes
- Not published
Places
Fees at 4+, day
£5,484a term
2026–27 school year, including VAT
Checked, source: The Portsmouth Grammar School, checked
The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School sets its own tests and decides after them. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.
How entry works
Ways in, and how children are assessed
The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School takes new pupils at 4+, 7+, 8+, 9+ and 10+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.
4+ entry
How children are assessed: a play-based observation.
Other ways in: 7+, 8+, 9+ and 10+Places, tests and registration for each
7+ entry
How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and an interview.
8+ entry
How children are assessed: not checked yet.
Registration closes: Not yet published (for September 2028 entry)
9+ entry
How children are assessed: not checked yet.
Registration closes: Not yet published (for September 2028 entry)
10+ entry
How children are assessed: not checked yet.
Registration closes: Not yet published (for September 2028 entry)
Source: The Portsmouth Grammar School, checked
More about entry from our guide
This page covers entry to The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School only. Its senior school, The Portsmouth Grammar School, has its own page.
4+ (Reception)
Reception children have an informal play-based assessmentThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: assessment will consist of age appropriate and play based activities
View the official source. The school's Reception information still refers to entry in September 2026The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.
View the official source.
- What the school assesses: informal play-based assessmentThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:
assessment will consist of age appropriate and play based activities
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2026The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:
Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.
View the official source
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by The Portsmouth Grammar School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.View the official source |
| Assessment | The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by The Portsmouth Grammar School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.View the official source |
| Offers | The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by The Portsmouth Grammar School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.View the official source |
7+ (Year 3)
Year 3 candidates sit the school's own English assessmentThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Children in Year 3 and above are asked to complete some short assessments in Mathematics, English, Verbal and Non Verbal Reasoning.
View the official source together with maths and reasoning papers set by the school, and have an interviewThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: They will also have a short, informal interview with the Head of the Junior School.
View the official source. We have not found dates for September 2027 entry.
- What the school assesses: interviewThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: InterviewChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:
They will also have a short, informal interview with the Head of the Junior School.
View the official source; school's own English assessmentThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:Children in Year 3 and above are asked to complete some short assessments in Mathematics, English, Verbal and Non Verbal Reasoning.
View the official source; school's own maths assessmentThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:Children in Year 3 and above are asked to complete some short assessments in Mathematics, English, Verbal and Non Verbal Reasoning.
View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:Children in Year 3 and above are asked to complete some short assessments in Mathematics, English, Verbal and Non Verbal Reasoning.
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2026The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:
Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.
View the official source
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by The Portsmouth Grammar School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.View the official source |
| Assessment | The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by The Portsmouth Grammar School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.View the official source |
| Offers | The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by The Portsmouth Grammar School; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for September 2026, throughout the whole school, are open.View the official source |
Key dates
4+ dates for September 2026 entry
Dates for the other ways in8+, 9+ and 10+
8+ entry, September 2028
Not published yet: Registration closes for 8+ entry
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
9+ entry, September 2028
Not published yet: Registration closes for 9+ entry
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
10+ entry, September 2028
Not published yet: Registration closes for 10+ entry
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
A year younger? 4+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
Not published yet: Registration closes for 4+ entry
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026
At a glance
The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School in brief
tap a value for its source
- Ages
- 4 to 11AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:
Junior School (4-11)
View the official source - The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
- Ways in
- 4+, 7+, 8+, 9+, 10+
- The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
- Registration fee
- £120VAT not stated by the school
- Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.
Fees
From £5,484 a term, including VAT
- 4+ entry, day
- £5,484 a term, including VAT
- 7+ entry, day
- £5,784 a term, including VAT
Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.
the published fees include VAT
Registration fee: £120 (VAT not stated by the school).
Deposit when you accept a day place: £500.
Source: The Portsmouth Grammar School, checked
For 2026–27The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Academic yearChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Fees 2026/27
View the official source, the published fees include VATThe Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Vat treatmentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Annual Fee (including VAT) Termly Fee (including VAT)
View the official source. A Year 3 place costs £5,784 per term (including VAT)The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Year 3 - Year 4 £17,352 £5,784
View the official source, compared with £5,484 per term (including VAT)The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Reception - Year 2 £16,452 £5,484
View the official source in Reception.
| Joining at | Day |
|---|---|
| 4+ | £5,484 per term (including VAT)The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Reception - Year 2 £16,452 £5,484View the official source |
| 7+ | £5,784 per term (including VAT)The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Year 3 - Year 4 £17,352 £5,784View the official source |
- Registration fee: £120The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:
There is a non-refundable registration fee of £100 (Pre-School) and £120 (all other years) per child.
View the official source - Acceptance deposit (day): £500The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says:
Upon acceptance of a place, we ask for a £500 deposit to be paid and that you digitally sign our Terms of Admission, submitted via OpenApply; this deposit is refunded to you on the invoice at the start of the first term.
View the official source
Bursaries and scholarships
Help with fees
- Bursaries (help with fees)
- Not checked yet.
- Scholarships
- Not checked yet.
Open days
Not published yet
The school's visit page loads its event list with a script that we could not capture, so no open events are listed here. The admissions team can tell you about visits.
What is distinctive about applying to PGJS
PGJS charges a registration fee of £120The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: There is a non-refundable registration fee of £100 (Pre-School) and £120 (all other years) per child.
View the official source, and families who accept a place pay a deposit of £500The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against The Portsmouth Grammar School.The source says: Upon acceptance of a place, we ask for a £500 deposit to be paid and that you digitally sign our Terms of Admission, submitted via OpenApply; this deposit is refunded to you on the invoice at the start of the first term.
View the official source.
We could not find a bursary or scholarship scheme for Junior School entry on the school's pages, so none is shown. We are checking the current admissions round with the school and will add dates once we can confirm them.
Official documents and sources
6 sources, each kept as an archived copy
- The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- The Portsmouth Grammar School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 18 Oct 2026
- The Portsmouth Grammar School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- The Portsmouth Grammar School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 18 Oct 2026
- The Portsmouth Grammar School
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 18 Oct 2026
- The Portsmouth Grammar School
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with The Portsmouth Grammar Junior School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page