Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

Grammar schools in the Medway 11+ area

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial Team

Some details are being re-checked

We check every fact against the official source on a schedule, and some details on this page are due their next check (last verified 19 October 2026). We'll update the page if anything has changed. How we check facts

In short

Medway has 6Medway: Grammar schoolsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Medway Council.The source says: the Medway Test is used only by the 6 Medway grammar schools.View the official source grammar schools, and they admit children through the Medway Test. This is a different test from the Kent Test. Children assessed as grammar can then be considered by any of the schools. Each school orders its applicants by its own published criteria, such as siblings, staff children, pupil premium or nearness of home. The list runs from A to Z, with no ranking.

How far offers reached at each school

Listed A to Z. Each school uses its own admission rules, so a longer distance does not mean a place is easier to get.

Listed A to Z by school name.

  1. Chatham GrammarBoys and girls

    Offers reached 17.94 miles

    Rule not stated · 150 places

  2. Fort Pitt Grammar SchoolBoys and girls

    Offers reached 2.06 miles

    Rule not stated · 150 places

  3. Holcombe Grammar SchoolBoys and girls

    Offers reached 22.96 miles

    Rule not stated · 180 places

  4. Rainham Mark Grammar SchoolBoys and girls

    Offers reached 2.59 miles

    Rule not stated · 235 places

  5. Sir Joseph Williamson's Mathematical SchoolBoys

    Offers reached 3.35 miles

    Rule not stated

  6. The Rochester Grammar SchoolGirls

    Offers reached 11.38 miles

    Rule not stated · 205 places

Source: Medway Council, checked Each school's own page names its source. Distances are measured by each school's own method, so compare with care.

Medway has 6Medway: Grammar schoolsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Medway Council.The source says: the Medway Test is used only by the 6 Medway grammar schools.View the official source grammar schools, and they admit children through the Medway Test, written for the council by GL AssessmentMedway Test (GL Assessment, written for Medway Council): Test providerChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Medway Council.The source says: Our test provider is GL Assessment.View the official source. This is a different test from the Kent Test. Children assessed as grammar can then be considered by any of the schools. Each school orders its applicants by its own published criteria, such as siblings, staff children, pupil premium or nearness of home. The table and the full list on this page run from A to Z, and we make no ranking between them, because the right choice depends on your child and your daily journey.

Medway schools at a glance

SchoolPupilsYear 7 places, September 2027 entry
Chatham GrammarmixedChatham Grammar: PupilsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Chatham Grammar.The source says: Chatham Grammar will become co-educational from September 2026, admitting both girls and boys into Year 7.View the official source150Chatham Grammar: Year 7 places (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against Chatham Grammar.The source says: The Planned Admission Number (PAN) is 150.View the official source
Fort Pitt Grammar SchoolmixedFort Pitt Grammar School: PupilsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Medway Council.The source says: **Gender** Year 7 intakes from September 2026 onwards will be mixed. Other year groups, apart from Sixth Form, remain girls only.View the official source150Fort Pitt Grammar School: Year 7 places (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against Fort Pitt Grammar School.The source says: 150 places will be offered to children deemed to be of selective ability by the Medway Test.View the official source
Holcombe Grammar SchoolmixedHolcombe Grammar School: PupilsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Holcombe Grammar School.The source says: Holcombe Grammar School is a co-educational school starting from 1st September 2026.View the official source180Holcombe Grammar School: Year 7 places (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against Holcombe Grammar School.The source says: The school’s published admission number is 180.View the official source
Rainham Mark Grammar SchoolmixedRainham Mark Grammar School: PupilsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Medway Council.The source says: **Gender** MixedView the official source235Rainham Mark Grammar School: Year 7 places (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against Rainham Mark Grammar School.The source says: The Published Admission number and maximum number of intended admissions for the year commencing 1st September 2027 will be 235 at age 11.View the official source
The Rochester Grammar SchoolGirls (boys join in the sixth form)The Rochester Grammar School: PupilsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Medway Council.The source says: **Gender** Girls (mixed 6th form)View the official source205The Rochester Grammar School: Year 7 places (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against The Rochester Grammar School.The source says: The School’s published admission number is 205 for pupils entering Year 7 in 2027.View the official source
Sir Joseph Williamson's Mathematical SchoolBoys (girls join in the sixth form)Sir Joseph Williamson's Mathematical School: PupilsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against Sir Joseph Williamson's Mathematical School.The source says: is a boys' grammar school with over 1500 students on roll that admits girls in the Sixth Form.View the official sourceNot yet confirmed

Two schools with different routes

Chatham Grammar accepts a second test. Its entry rule is: Assessed as grammar through the Medway Test and/or the Kent TestChatham Grammar: Test family by entry year (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against Chatham Grammar.The source says: Applicants must be assessed as grammar through the Kent and/or Medway Test processes to be considered eligible for a place.View the official source. Fort Pitt Grammar School gives weight to where a family lives. Its rule is: Priority to homes within 2 miles (council GIS), then named Hoo peninsula and nearby parishes, then everyone else, by walking distanceFort Pitt Grammar School: Kind (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against Fort Pitt Grammar School.The source says: 4. Children residing within 2 miles of the schoolView the official source. At Rainham Mark Grammar School, pupil premium has a high place in the order: Second: pupil premium (FSM in last 6 years); form to the school by 31 October 2026Rainham Mark Grammar School: Rank (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against Rainham Mark Grammar School.The source says: (ii). Children in receipt of Pupil PremiumView the official source. Check each school page for its forms and deadlines.

For the Medway Test timetable, see the Medway dates page. To compare schools with your own priorities, use the Medway 11+ plan.