Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school for boys and girls

Hurstpierpoint College: entry, assessments, dates and fees

College Lane, Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, BN6 9JS

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

For September 2029 entry

  • Registration closes, 13+ entry

    Sun 1 Nov

    Sunday 1 November 2026, for September 2029 entry

    Checked, source: Hurstpierpoint College, checked
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees at 13+, day

    £12,790a term

    2026–27 school year, including VAT

    Checked, source: Hurstpierpoint College, checked

Your next steps for 13+ entry

  1. Next: Registration closes for 13+ entry

    in 12 days

  2. Coming up: Entrance tests

Hurstpierpoint College sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

Hurstpierpoint College takes new pupils at 13+ and 16+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 13+ entry

    How children are assessed: an interview, a group activity and the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share). Tests are taken in Year 6, with a place offered ahead of entry.

    Registration closes: Sunday 1 November 2026 (for September 2029 entry)

Other ways in: 16+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 16+ entry

    How children are assessed: a reasoning paper, an interview, a reference from the current school and GCSE grade requirements.

    Registration closes: Friday 23 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)

Source: Hurstpierpoint College, checked

More about entry from our guide

Children who join before Year 9, including at 11+, go to Hurst Prep School, which shares the College's website. We are covering it as a separate school, so this page deals with entry at 13+ and to the sixth form.

See our page on Hurst Prep School.

13+ (Year 9)

After the Year 6 assessment day, offers for September 2029 follow in March 2027Hurstpierpoint College: Offer date (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: ISEB online pre-tests Assessment day Decision letters By Mid-December Saturday 16 January 2027 By end of March 2027View the official source. For Year 9 entry in September 2027, scholarship and bursary applications close on Friday 20 November 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Friday 20 November 2026View the official source.

  • What the school assesses: group or team activityHurstpierpoint College: Group activityChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: They will participate in a carousel of activities which include physical, cerebral and creative tasks.View the official source; interviewHurstpierpoint College: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Pupils will also have informal interviews.View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestHurstpierpoint College: Iseb pretestChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Registered pupils looking to join Hurst at 13+ (Year 9) will be asked to sit the online ISEB Common Pre-tests in Year 6.View the official source
  • First assessment taken in: Year 6Hurstpierpoint College: Pre test year groupChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Registered pupils looking to join Hurst at 13+ (Year 9) will be asked to sit the online ISEB Common Pre-tests in Year 6.View the official source
  • Offers made early for deferred entry: YesHurstpierpoint College: Deferred offerChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Based on this information, offers are made by the end of March of Year 6.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2029Hurstpierpoint College: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Applications for entry to Year 9 2029 are now open.View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Bursary application byFriday 20 November 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Bursary deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: 13+ Entry appreciated if you can make every effort to attend Friday 20 November 2026View the official source
Scholarship application byFriday 20 November 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Friday 20 November 2026View the official source
Scholarship assessmentTuesday 4 May 2027 to Thursday 6 May 2027 (academic); week commencing Monday 22 February 2027 (performing arts (dance, drama, music)); Tuesday 26 January 2027 (sport (girls)); Tuesday 2 February 2027 (sport (boys))Hurstpierpoint College: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Between Tuesday 4 and Thursday 6 May 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2029

StepDate
Registration closesSunday 1 November 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Registration deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Open Mornings Personal visit Registration Saturday 26 September Weekdays By 1 NovemberView the official source
AssessmentSaturday 16 January 2027Hurstpierpoint College: Assessment date (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: ISEB online pre-tests Assessment day Decision letters By Mid-December Saturday 16 January 2027 By end of March 2027View the official source
OffersMarch 2027Hurstpierpoint College: Offer date (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: ISEB online pre-tests Assessment day Decision letters By Mid-December Saturday 16 January 2027 By end of March 2027View the official source

16+ (sixth form, Year 12)

Sixth-form registration, scholarship and bursary applications all close on Friday 23 October 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: By Friday 23 OctoberView the official source. Entry tests, interviews and scholarship assessments are held on Monday 23 November 2026 and Tuesday 24 November 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: On Monday 23 and/or Tuesday 24 November, students are invited in to sit entry tests, have interviews, and complete Scholarship Assessments.View the official source, and offers follow in December 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Offer date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Decision letters will be posted to students in early December.View the official source.

  • What the school assesses: GCSE grade requirementsHurstpierpoint College: Gcse requirementsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: To enrol into the Sixth Form at Hurst, students require at least four Grade 7 GCSEs.View the official source; interviewHurstpierpoint College: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Registered students are invited to attend an assessment day in November of Year 11 when they will sit Verbal and Non-verbal reasoning papers and attend interviews.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentHurstpierpoint College: Own reasoningChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Registered students are invited to attend an assessment day in November of Year 11 when they will sit Verbal and Non-verbal reasoning papers and attend interviews.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolHurstpierpoint College: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: A satisfactory reference is also required from the student’s current school.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Hurstpierpoint College: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Applications for Sixth Form entry in 2027 are now open.View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Registration closesFriday 23 October 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: By Friday 23 OctoberView the official source
AssessmentMonday 23 November 2026 and Tuesday 24 November 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: On Monday 23 and/or Tuesday 24 November, students are invited in to sit entry tests, have interviews, and complete Scholarship Assessments.View the official source
OffersDecember 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Offer date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Decision letters will be posted to students in early December.View the official source
Bursary application byFriday 23 October 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Bursary deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: 16+ Entry Friday 23 October 2026View the official source
Scholarship application byFriday 23 October 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: By Friday 23 OctoberView the official source
Scholarship assessmentMonday 23 November 2026 and Tuesday 24 November 2026 (entry tests, interviews and scholarship assessments)Hurstpierpoint College: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Monday 23 and Tuesday 24 November 2026View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesHurstpierpoint College: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Hurstpierpoint College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for Sixth Form entry in 2027 are now open.View the official source
AssessmentHurstpierpoint College: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Hurstpierpoint College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for Sixth Form entry in 2027 are now open.View the official source
OffersHurstpierpoint College: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Hurstpierpoint College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Applications for Sixth Form entry in 2027 are now open.View the official source

Key dates

13+ dates for September 2029 entry

Hurstpierpoint College

  1. Next: Registration closes for 13+ entry

    in 12 days

  2. Coming up: Entrance tests

  3. Coming up: Offers sent

    Expected

Dates for the other ways in16+

16+ entry, September 2027

  1. Next: Registration closes for 16+ entry

    in 3 days

  2. Coming up: Bursary applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for help with fees

  3. Coming up: Scholarship applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  4. Coming up: Entrance tests

  5. Coming up: Scholarship assessments

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  6. Coming up: Offers sent

    Expected

At a glance

Hurstpierpoint College in brief

tap a value for its source

Ages
4 to 18AgesChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Hurst is a thriving, co-educational day & boarding school for pupils from age 4 to 18 years, situated close to the village of Hurstpierpoint in West Sussex.View the official source
The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
Ways in
13+, 16+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Scholarships
5 kinds
Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
Day or boarding
day pupils and boarders
Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
Help with fees
Yes, up to 110%
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Registration fee
£240VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £12,790 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, day
£12,790 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, weekly boarding
£16,365 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, flexi boarding
£15,365 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, day
£12,790 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, weekly boarding
£16,365 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, flexi boarding
£15,365 a term, including VAT

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

the published fees include VAT

Registration fee: £240 (VAT not stated by the school).

Source: Hurstpierpoint College, checked

From Year 9 to the sixth form, Hurst charges one termly fee for each type of place: day, weekly boarding and flexi boarding.

Joining atDayWeekly boardingFlexi boarding
13+£12,790 per term (including VAT)Hurstpierpoint College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Day £12,790View the official source£16,365 per term (including VAT)Hurstpierpoint College: Weekly boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Weekly boarding (5 or 6 nights per week) £16,365View the official source£15,365 per term (including VAT)Hurstpierpoint College: Flexi boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Flexi boarding (3 nights per week) £15,365View the official source
16+£12,790 per term (including VAT)Hurstpierpoint College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Day £12,790View the official source£16,365 per term (including VAT)Hurstpierpoint College: Weekly boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Weekly boarding (5 or 6 nights per week) £16,365View the official source£15,365 per term (including VAT)Hurstpierpoint College: Flexi boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Flexi boarding (3 nights per week) £15,365View the official source
  • Registration fee: £240Hurstpierpoint College: Registration feeChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Registration Fee: The non-refundable Registration Fee is £240.View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to 110% of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available, up to 110% of the fees. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
For academic, drama, music, other and sport, at 13+ and 16+ entry, worth up to 0% of the fees.

Source: Hurstpierpoint College, checked

  • Largest bursary: up to 110%Hurstpierpoint College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: bursaries of up to 110% of the fees are designed to coverView the official source of fees, means-tested
  • Scholarships offered: academicHurstpierpoint College: AcademicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Academic 4View the official source, dramaHurstpierpoint College: DramaChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Performing Arts 9 Dance 10 Drama 15 Music 19 Sports 24View the official source, musicHurstpierpoint College: MusicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Performing Arts 9 Dance 10 Drama 15 Music 19 Sports 24View the official source, otherHurstpierpoint College: OtherChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Performing Arts 9 Dance 10 Drama 15 Music 19 Sports 24View the official source, sportHurstpierpoint College: SportChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Performing Arts 9 Dance 10 Drama 15 Music 19 Sports 24View the official source
  • Scholarship value: no fee reduction (scholarships are honorary)Hurstpierpoint College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Scholarships no longer have a fee remission element to them, instead they will follow a robust Pathway programme to enhance their skills and talents in those areas.View the official source
  • Scholarship entry points: 13+Hurstpierpoint College: 13 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Scholarships and bursaries are offered at 11+, 13+ and 16+ entry points.View the official source, 16+ (sixth form)Hurstpierpoint College: 16 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Scholarships and bursaries are offered at 11+, 13+ and 16+ entry points.View the official source

Open days

This year's events have passed
  1. Done: Open Morning (passed)

  2. Done: Open Morning (passed)

Source: Hurstpierpoint College, checked

These open mornings appear on the College's year-headed admissions documents. Its open mornings page lists further dates without a year, so we have not shown them.

What is distinctive about applying to Hurst

Families need to plan for Year 9 early: registration for September 2029 entry closes on Sunday 1 November 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Registration deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Open Mornings Personal visit Registration Saturday 26 September Weekdays By 1 NovemberView the official source, while the child is in Year 6, and successful children receive a deferred offer.

Scholarships at Hurst carry no fee reduction (scholarships are honorary)Hurstpierpoint College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: Scholarships no longer have a fee remission element to them, instead they will follow a robust Pathway programme to enhance their skills and talents in those areas.View the official source. Families who need help with fees apply for a means-tested bursary, which can be worth up to 110%Hurstpierpoint College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: bursaries of up to 110% of the fees are designed to coverView the official source of fees; for the sixth form the bursary deadline is Friday 23 October 2026Hurstpierpoint College: Bursary deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Hurstpierpoint College.The source says: 16+ Entry Friday 23 October 2026View the official source.

Official documents and sources

10 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Hurstpierpoint College, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page