- Independent school for boys and girls
Lancing College: entry, assessments, dates and fees
Lancing College, Lancing, West Sussex BN15 0RW
Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website
Can we apply, and when?
For September 2027 entry
- Not published yet
Registration closes
- Not published
Places
Fees at 13+, day
£13,110a term
2026–27 school year, including VAT
Checked, source: Lancing College, checked
Your next steps for 13+ entry
Next: Scholarship applications close
in about 6 weeks
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: art, sport, Peter Robinson cricket
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: all-rounder (Ken Shearwood)
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Lancing College sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.
How entry works
Ways in, and how children are assessed
Lancing College takes new pupils at 13+ and 16+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.
13+ entry
How children are assessed: an interview, a reference from the current school, the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share) and the CAT4 reasoning test. Tests are taken in Year 6, with a place offered ahead of entry.
Other ways in: 16+Places, tests and registration for each
16+ entry
How children are assessed: an interview, a reference from the current school, GCSE grade requirements and the CAT4 reasoning test.
Registration closes: Friday 16 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)
Source: Lancing College, checked
More about entry from our guide
13+ (Year 9)
Successful Advance Programme candidates receive a deferred offer for Year 9 and pay a smaller deposit when they accept. Scholarships for Year 9 entry in September 2027 close on Sunday 29 November 2026Lancing College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: The deadline for scholarship applications and supporting documentation is 29 November 2026.
View the official source, with assessment days in January.
- What the school assesses: CAT4Lancing College: Cat4Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
In addition to a familiarisation and assessment day (including interview and written assessment), we require that students sit the ISEB pre-test and submit a recent CAT4 score.
View the official source; interviewLancing College: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:In addition to a familiarisation and assessment day (including interview and written assessment), we require that students sit the ISEB pre-test and submit a recent CAT4 score.
View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestLancing College: Iseb pretestChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:In addition to a familiarisation and assessment day (including interview and written assessment), we require that students sit the ISEB pre-test and submit a recent CAT4 score.
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolLancing College: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:A satisfactory reference from the current school will be requested during the process.
View the official source - First assessment taken in: Year 6Lancing College: Pre test year groupChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
Advance (Pre-Test) Programme (Year 6, UK pupils only)
View the official source - Offers made early for deferred entry: YesLancing College: Deferred offerChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
If a student is successful, a firm offer for Year 9 entry will be made by February/March of Year 6.
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027 (scholarships); entry in September 2029 (Advance Pre-Test Programme)Lancing College: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
Applications for Third Form (Year 9) Scholarships for September 2027 entry will open in September 2026.
View the official source
Entry in September 2027
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Scholarship application by | Sunday 29 November 2026Lancing College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: The deadline for scholarship applications and supporting documentation is 29 November 2026.View the official source |
| Scholarship assessment | Monday 18 January 2027 (art, sport, Peter Robinson cricket); Tuesday 19 January 2027 (all-rounder (Ken Shearwood)); Wednesday 20 January 2027 (drama, design & technology); Monday 25 January 2027 to Wednesday 27 January 2027 (music); Tuesday 2 February 2027 to Wednesday 3 February 2027 (academic)Lancing College: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: 18 January 2027 – 13+ Art, Sports & Peter Robinson Scholarship Assessment DayView the official source |
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Lancing College: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Lancing College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Places for 2028 are limited. Please contact us to enquire about availability.View the official source |
| Assessment | Lancing College: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Lancing College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Places for 2028 are limited. Please contact us to enquire about availability.View the official source |
| Offers | Lancing College: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Lancing College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Places for 2028 are limited. Please contact us to enquire about availability.View the official source |
Entry in September 2029
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Tuesday 27 October 2026Lancing College: Registration deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: The deadline for registration for the Advance Pre-Test Programme is 27 October 2026.View the official source |
| Assessment | Tuesday 12 January 2027Lancing College: Assessment date (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: The Advance Pre-Test Programme Assessment and Familiarisation Day will take place on Tuesday 12 January 2027.View the official source |
16+ (sixth form, Year 12)
Sixth-form applications close on Friday 16 October 2026Lancing College: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: The deadline for registration for Sixth Form entry in 2027 is 16 October 2026.
View the official source. UK applicants are assessed on Saturday 7 November 2026 (UK students); Friday 6 November 2026 (international students (remote))Lancing College: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry in 2027 will take place on Friday 6 November 2026 (International students – remotely) and on Saturday 7 November 2026 (UK students).
View the official source, and offers follow in December 2026Lancing College: Offer date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Places are offered in early December for successful candidates
View the official source. Two school pages give slightly different sizes for the sixth-form intake.
- Places: Awaiting confirmationLancing College: PlacesOfficial sources disagree; we are confirming this with the publisher.View the official source
- What the school assesses: CAT4Lancing College: Cat4Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
Online Cognitive Ability Test (CAT4)
View the official source; GCSE grade requirementsLancing College: Gcse requirementsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Please note, offers will be subject to pupils meeting the normal GCSE qualifications for Sixth Form entry (a minimum of five Grade 6s, which would usually include English and Mathematics).
View the official source; interviewLancing College: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Academic interviews
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolLancing College: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:References from the current school
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Lancing College: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
The deadline for registration for Sixth Form entry in 2027 is 16 October 2026.
View the official source
Entry in September 2027
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Friday 16 October 2026Lancing College: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: The deadline for registration for Sixth Form entry in 2027 is 16 October 2026.View the official source |
| Assessment | Saturday 7 November 2026 (UK students); Friday 6 November 2026 (international students (remote))Lancing College: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry in 2027 will take place on Friday 6 November 2026 (International students – remotely) and on Saturday 7 November 2026 (UK students).View the official source |
| Offers | December 2026Lancing College: Offer date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Places are offered in early December for successful candidatesView the official source |
| Scholarship application by | Friday 16 October 2026Lancing College: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Friday 16 October 2026 – scholarship information and scholarship forms.View the official source |
| Scholarship assessment | Thursday 5 November 2026 (sport); Friday 6 November 2026 (art, music); Saturday 7 November 2026 (academic, drama)Lancing College: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Thursday 5 November 2026 – Sports Scholarship Assessment Day.View the official source |
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Lancing College: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Lancing College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: The deadline for registration for Sixth Form entry in 2027 is 16 October 2026.View the official source |
| Assessment | Lancing College: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Lancing College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry in 2027 will take place on Friday 6 November 2026 (International students – remotely) and on Saturday 7 November 2026 (UK students).View the official source |
| Offers | Lancing College: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Lancing College; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Information on Sixth Form Entry 2027View the official source |
Key dates
13+ dates for September 2027 entry
Lancing College
Next: Scholarship applications close
in about 6 weeks
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: art, sport, Peter Robinson cricket
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: all-rounder (Ken Shearwood)
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: drama, design & technology
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: music
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: academic
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Dates for the other ways in16+
16+ entry, September 2027
Done: Registration closes for 16+ entry
Done: Scholarship applications close
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Next: Scholarship assessments: sport
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Entrance tests: international students (remote)
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: art, music
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Entrance tests: UK students
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: academic, drama
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Offers sent
Expected
A year younger? 13+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
Not published yet: Registration closes for 13+ entry
Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026
At a glance
Lancing College in brief
tap a value for its source
- Ages
- 13 to 19AgesChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
Lancing College is an academically selective co-educational independent boarding and day school for pupils aged 13 to 19 years.
View the official source - The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
- Ways in
- 13+, 16+
- The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
- Scholarships
- 9 kinds
- Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
- Day or boarding
- day pupils and boarders
- Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
- Help with fees
- Yes, up to 110%
- Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
- Registration fee
- £240VAT not stated by the school
- Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.
Fees
From £13,110 a term, including VAT
- 13+ entry, day
- £13,110 a term, including VAT
- 13+ entry, full boarding
- £19,180 a term, including VAT
- 13+ entry, flexi boarding
- £16,115 a term, including VAT
- 16+ entry, day
- £13,110 a term, including VAT
- 16+ entry, full boarding
- £19,180 a term, including VAT
- 16+ entry, flexi boarding
- £16,115 a term, including VAT
Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.
the published fees include VAT
Registration fee: £240 (VAT not stated by the school).
Source: Lancing College, checked
| Joining at | Day | Full boarding | Flexi boarding |
|---|---|---|---|
| 13+ | £13,110 per term (including VAT)Lancing College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Day £13,110 per termView the official source | £19,180 per term (including VAT)Lancing College: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Boarding £19,180 per termView the official source | £16,115 per term (including VAT)Lancing College: Flexi boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Flexi-boarding £16,115 per termView the official source |
| 16+ | £13,110 per term (including VAT)Lancing College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Day £13,110 per termView the official source | £19,180 per term (including VAT)Lancing College: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Boarding £19,180 per termView the official source | £16,115 per term (including VAT)Lancing College: Flexi boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Flexi-boarding £16,115 per termView the official source |
- Registration fee: £240Lancing College: Registration feeChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
Please complete your child’s details as requested and when prompted process the registration fee payment (£240) via bank transfer.
View the official source - Acceptance deposit (day): £2,000 (UK deposit); £1,300 (UK Advance Programme deposit)Lancing College: Deposit dayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
UK Deposit £2,000 - refunded when the pupil leaves the College
View the official source - Acceptance deposit (boarding): £2,000 (UK deposit); £1,300 (UK Advance Programme deposit)Lancing College: Deposit boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
UK Deposit £2,000 - refunded when the pupil leaves the College
View the official source
Bursaries and scholarships
Bursaries up to 110% of fees
- Bursaries (help with fees)
- Available, up to 110% of the fees. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
- Scholarships
- For academic, all rounder, art, design and technology, drama, music, organ, other and sport, at 13+ and 16+ entry.
Source: Lancing College, checked
- Largest bursary: up to 110%Lancing College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
Transformational Bursaries (of 110%) are limited and are based on strict entry criteria.
View the official source of fees, means-tested - Scholarships offered: academicLancing College: AcademicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
Academic Scholarship (Years 9 and 12)
View the official source, all-rounderLancing College: All rounderChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Ken Shearwood Award – All Rounder Scholarship (Year 9)
View the official source, artLancing College: ArtChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Art Scholarship (Years 9 and 12)
View the official source, design and technologyLancing College: Design technologyChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Design & Technology Scholarship (Year 9)
View the official source, dramaLancing College: DramaChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Drama Scholarship (Years 9 and 12)
View the official source, musicLancing College: MusicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Music Scholarship (Years 9 and 12)
View the official source, organLancing College: OrganChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Organ Scholarship (Year 12)
View the official source, otherLancing College: OtherChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Peter Robinson Cricket Scholarship (Years 9 and 12)
View the official source, sportLancing College: SportChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:Sports Scholarship (Years 9 and 12)
View the official source - Scholarship entry points: 13+Lancing College: 13 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:
We are delighted to be able to offer a number of Scholarships and other entrance awards at Year 9 and Year 12 entry:
View the official source, 16+ (sixth form)Lancing College: 16 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says:We are delighted to be able to offer a number of Scholarships and other entrance awards at Year 9 and Year 12 entry:
View the official source
Open days
Next: Open Morning, Sat 14 Nov 2026
Done: Sixth Form open event (passed)
9.15am
Coming up: Open Morning
9.15am – 1.30pm
Coming up: Open Morning
9.15am – 1.30pm
Coming up: Open Morning
9.15am – 1.30pm
Source: Lancing College, checked
What is distinctive about applying to Lancing
Day fees are £13,110 per term (including VAT)Lancing College: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Day £13,110 per term
View the official source for 2026–27Lancing College: Academic yearChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Senior School Fees 2026–2027
View the official source, with flexi and full boarding also offered; there is a single fee for all year groups. Bursaries can reach 110%Lancing College: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Lancing College.The source says: Transformational Bursaries (of 110%) are limited and are based on strict entry criteria.
View the official source of fees.
Lancing holds Saturday open mornings in the autumn, spring and summer, listed below.
Official documents and sources
12 sources, each kept as an archived copy
- Department for Education (Get Information about Schools)
Spreadsheet · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
- Lancing College
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 10 Oct 2026
ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Lancing College, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page