Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school for girls

St Catherine's Prep School: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Station Road, Bramley, Guildford, Surrey GU5 0DF

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

For September 2027 entry

  • Registration closes

    Not published yet
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees

    Not published yet

St Catherine's Prep School sets its own tests and decides after them. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

St Catherine's Prep School takes new pupils at 4+, 7+, 8+, 9+ and 10+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 4+ entry

    How children are assessed: a play-based observation.

Other ways in: 7+, 8+, 9+ and 10+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 7+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and a reference from the current school.

  • 8+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and a reference from the current school.

  • 9+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and a reference from the current school.

  • 10+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper and a reference from the current school.

Source: St Catherine's School, Bramley, checked

More about entry from our guide

All five entry points shared one assessment day for September 2027 entry, and that day has passed. The school does not publish a registration deadline or offer date on its website; we will add them, and dates for September 2028, when it does.

This page covers entry to St Catherine's Prep School only. Its senior school, St Catherine's School, Bramley, has its own page.

4+ (Reception)

Reception children have an informal play-based assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Following a discovery session, your daughter will be invited for an informal play assessment.View the official source on the same day as older candidates, Friday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 9:00am-11:00am Or by arrangement throughout OctoberView the official source.

  • What the school assesses: informal play-based assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Play observationChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Following a discovery session, your daughter will be invited for an informal play assessment.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027St Catherine's Prep School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
AssessmentFriday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 9:00am-11:00am Or by arrangement throughout OctoberView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesSt Catherine's Prep School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
AssessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
OffersSt Catherine's Prep School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

7+ (Year 3)

Year 3 is the first entry point with written assessments: English, maths and reasoning papers set by the school, plus a reference.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolSt Catherine's Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: For entry into Years 1-6 a confidential report from your daughter's current Headteacher will also be requested.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027St Catherine's Prep School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
AssessmentFriday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 8:45am-3:00pmView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesSt Catherine's Prep School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
AssessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
OffersSt Catherine's Prep School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

8+ (Year 4)

Year 4 candidates take the same assessments as Year 3.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolSt Catherine's Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: For entry into Years 1-6 a confidential report from your daughter's current Headteacher will also be requested.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027St Catherine's Prep School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
AssessmentFriday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 8:45am-3:00pmView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesSt Catherine's Prep School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
AssessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
OffersSt Catherine's Prep School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

9+ (Year 5)

Year 5 entry follows the same pattern, on the same assessment day.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolSt Catherine's Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: For entry into Years 1-6 a confidential report from your daughter's current Headteacher will also be requested.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027St Catherine's Prep School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
AssessmentFriday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 8:45am-3:00pmView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesSt Catherine's Prep School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
AssessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
OffersSt Catherine's Prep School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

10+ (Year 6)

Year 6 is the final year of the Prep School. Year 6 candidates were assessed on Friday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 8:45am-3:00pmView the official source, alongside the younger year groups.

  • What the school assesses: school's own English assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own englishChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own mathsChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Own reasoningChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Admission is by age-appropriate assessment in literacy, numeracy and reasoning.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolSt Catherine's Prep School: ReferenceChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: For entry into Years 1-6 a confidential report from your daughter's current Headteacher will also be requested.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027St Catherine's Prep School: Current cycleChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
AssessmentFriday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 8:45am-3:00pmView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesSt Catherine's Prep School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
AssessmentSt Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source
OffersSt Catherine's Prep School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St Catherine's School, Bramley; last checked 11 Oct 2026.The source says: Prep School Key Admission Dates for Entry in 2027View the official source

Key dates

4+ dates for September 2027 entry

St Catherine's School, Bramley

  1. Done: Entrance tests

Dates for the other ways in7+, 8+, 9+ and 10+

7+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Entrance tests

8+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Entrance tests

9+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Entrance tests

10+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Entrance tests

A year younger? 4+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
  1. Not published yet: Registration closes for 4+ entry

    Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026

  2. Not published yet: Entrance tests

    Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026

  3. Not published yet: Offers sent

    Not yet published, checked 11 Oct 2026

At a glance

St Catherine's Prep School in brief

tap a value for its source

Ages
3 to 11 (Prep School, as in the Head's welcome); 2 to 11 (Pre-School and Prep School together)AgesChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's Prep School.The source says: As Head since 2012 I am the proud leader of a school dedicated to providing an exceptional education to young girls aged 3 to 11 in a happy learning environment.View the official source
The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
Ways in
4+, 7+, 8+, 9+, 10+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Help with fees
Yes, up to 75%
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Registration fee
£180VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

Not published yet
Fees not checked yet

the published fees include VAT

Registration fee: £180 (VAT not stated by the school).

Deposit when you accept a day place: £1,000.

The fees page shows two fee schedules, each labelled by the month it starts rather than by school year, and the table gives both as printed, including VAT. Fees for Years 4 to 6 were recorded by only one of our two checks, so we have not shown them yet.

Joining atDay
4+£4,970 per term (including VAT) (fees from Jan 27); £4,780 per term (including VAT) (fees from Jan 26)St Catherine's Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Pre-Prep 1 | £4,970View the official source
7+£7,555 per term (including VAT) (fees from Jan 27); £7,265 per term (including VAT) (fees from Jan 26)St Catherine's Prep School: DayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Prep School | £7,555View the official source
  • Registration fee: £180St Catherine's Prep School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Non-returnable £180.00 UK students, £300.00 Overseas students, payable on application.View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (day): £1,000St Catherine's Prep School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: To accept a place, an acceptance deposit of £1,000 is payable when parents return the Acceptance Form, agreeing to the School’s terms and conditions.View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to 75% of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available, up to 75% of the fees. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
Not checked yet.

Source: St Catherine's School, Bramley, checked

Means-tested bursaries can cover up to 75%St Catherine's Prep School: Max percentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Help can be provided up to 75% of the fees.View the official source of fees.

  • Largest bursary: up to 75%St Catherine's Prep School: Max percentChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Help can be provided up to 75% of the fees.View the official source of fees, means-tested

Open days

Next: Early Years Open Events for Pre-School and Reception (4+), Sat 14 Nov 2026
  1. Done: Prep School Open Events for Prospective Families (passed)

    9.30 - 11.45am

  2. Coming up: Early Years Open Events for Pre-School and Reception (4+)

    2.30 - 4pm

  3. Coming up: Prep School Open Events for Prospective Families

    9.30 - 11.45am

  4. Coming up: Early Years Open Events for Pre-School and Reception (4+)

    2.30 - 4pm

  5. Coming up: Prep School Open Events for Prospective Families

    9.30 - 11.45am

  6. Coming up: Early Years Open Events for Pre-School and Reception (4+)

    2.30 - 4pm

Source: St Catherine's School, Bramley, checked

St Catherine's runs separate open events for the Prep School and for Pre-School and Reception families.

What is distinctive about applying to St Catherine's Prep

Everything happens on one day. Reception and Years 3 to 6 candidates for September 2027 were all assessed on Friday 9 October 2026St Catherine's Prep School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Friday 9th October 2026: 8:45am-3:00pmView the official source. The school has not yet published assessment dates for September 2028 entry.

Registration costs £180St Catherine's Prep School: Registration feeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: Non-returnable £180.00 UK students, £300.00 Overseas students, payable on application.View the official source, and the deposit on accepting a place is £1,000St Catherine's Prep School: Deposit dayChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's School, Bramley.The source says: To accept a place, an acceptance deposit of £1,000 is payable when parents return the Acceptance Form, agreeing to the School’s terms and conditions.View the official source. The school describes the Prep's age range in two ways on different pages: 3 to 11 (Prep School, as in the Head's welcome); 2 to 11 (Pre-School and Prep School together)St Catherine's Prep School: Age rangeChecked 11 Oct 2026 against St Catherine's Prep School.The source says: As Head since 2012 I am the proud leader of a school dedicated to providing an exceptional education to young girls aged 3 to 11 in a happy learning environment.View the official source.

Official documents and sources

6 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with St Catherine's Prep School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page