Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school for boys and girls

City of London Freemen's School: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Ashtead Park, Surrey, KT21 1ET

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

For September 2027 entry

City of London Freemen’s School sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

City of London Freemen’s School takes new pupils at 7+, 8+, 9+, 10+, 11+, 13+ and 16+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 11+ entry

    How children are assessed: a piece of creative writing, an interview, a group activity, a reference from the current school and the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share).

    Registration closes: Thursday 1 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)

Other ways in: 7+, 8+, 9+, 10+, 13+ and 16+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 7+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, an interview, a group activity and a reference from the current school.

    Registration closes: Thursday 1 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)

  • 8+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, an interview, a group activity and a reference from the current school.

  • 9+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, an interview, a group activity and a reference from the current school.

  • 10+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, an interview, a group activity and a reference from the current school.

  • 13+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, a piece of creative writing, an interview, a group activity, a reference from the current school and the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share). Tests are taken in Year 6, with a place offered ahead of entry.

    Registration closes: Thursday 1 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)

  • 16+ entry

    How children are assessed: an interview, a group activity, a reference from the current school and GCSE grade requirements.

    Registration closes: Thursday 1 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)

Source: City of London Freemen's School, checked

More about entry from our guide

The school publishes its detailed key dates for September 2027 entry as images, which we cannot quote, so this page shows the registration deadline and the general timetable the school describes in text. Ask the admissions team for exact test and offer dates.

7+ (Year 3)

  • What the school assesses: group or team activityCity of London Freemen’s School: Group activityChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; interviewCity of London Freemen’s School: InterviewChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A friendly one-to-one interview to understand interests, personality and potentialView the official source; school's own English assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own englishChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Paper-based assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal ReasoningView the official source; school's own maths assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own mathsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Paper-based assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal ReasoningView the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own reasoningChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Paper-based assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal ReasoningView the official source; reference or report from current schoolCity of London Freemen’s School: ReferenceChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A confidential report from their current schoolView the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027City of London Freemen’s School: Current cycleChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Registration closesThursday 1 October 2026City of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Complete the online registration by 1 October the year before entry.View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesCity of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
AssessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
OffersCity of London Freemen’s School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

8+ (Year 4)

Children applying for entry at 8+, 9+ or 10+ follow the same process: written English, maths and non-verbal reasoning assessments, a group activity, a one-to-one interview and a report from their current school.

  • What the school assesses: group or team activityCity of London Freemen’s School: Group activityChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; interviewCity of London Freemen’s School: InterviewChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A friendly one-to-one interview to understand interests, personality and potentialView the official source; school's own English assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own englishChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; school's own maths assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own mathsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own reasoningChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; reference or report from current schoolCity of London Freemen’s School: ReferenceChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A confidential report from their current schoolView the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027City of London Freemen’s School: Current cycleChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesCity of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
AssessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
OffersCity of London Freemen’s School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

9+ (Year 5)

  • What the school assesses: group or team activityCity of London Freemen’s School: Group activityChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; interviewCity of London Freemen’s School: InterviewChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A friendly one-to-one interview to understand interests, personality and potentialView the official source; school's own English assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own englishChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; school's own maths assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own mathsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own reasoningChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; reference or report from current schoolCity of London Freemen’s School: ReferenceChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A confidential report from their current schoolView the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027City of London Freemen’s School: Current cycleChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesCity of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
AssessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
OffersCity of London Freemen’s School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

10+ (Year 6)

  • What the school assesses: group or team activityCity of London Freemen’s School: Group activityChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; interviewCity of London Freemen’s School: InterviewChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A friendly one-to-one interview to understand interests, personality and potentialView the official source; school's own English assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own englishChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; school's own maths assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own mathsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own reasoningChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: sit written assessments in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning, and participate in small group activitiesView the official source; reference or report from current schoolCity of London Freemen’s School: ReferenceChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A confidential report from their current schoolView the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027City of London Freemen’s School: Current cycleChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesCity of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
AssessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
OffersCity of London Freemen’s School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

11+ (Year 7)

At 11+ the school uses the ISEB Pre-Test together with its own assessments and an interview.

  • What the school assesses: group or team activityCity of London Freemen’s School: Group activityChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: to take part in some assessed small group activities, have an interview and complete a creative writing exercise.View the official source; interviewCity of London Freemen’s School: InterviewChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: to take part in some assessed small group activities, have an interview and complete a creative writing exercise.View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestCity of London Freemen’s School: Iseb pretestChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: ISEB Pre-Tests for 11+ and deferred 13+ candidates (details below)View the official source; creative or extended writing taskCity of London Freemen’s School: Own creative writingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: to take part in some assessed small group activities, have an interview and complete a creative writing exercise.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolCity of London Freemen’s School: ReferenceChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A confidential school reportView the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027City of London Freemen’s School: Current cycleChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Registration closesThursday 1 October 2026City of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Complete the online registration by 1 October the year before entry.View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesCity of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
AssessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
OffersCity of London Freemen’s School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

13+ (Year 9)

For Year 9, children can apply in Year 6City of London Freemen’s School: Pre test year groupChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: For 11+ (Year 7) and deferred 13+ (Year 9) entry, please also register on the ISEB Guardian Portal to sit the Pre-Tests in the autumn of Year 6.View the official source for a deferred place, sitting the 11+ assessments, or apply in Year 8.

  • What the school assesses: group or team activityCity of London Freemen’s School: Group activityChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: All candidates also take part in some assessed small group activities and have an interview on a later Saturday in November.View the official source; interviewCity of London Freemen’s School: InterviewChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: All candidates also take part in some assessed small group activities and have an interview on a later Saturday in November.View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestCity of London Freemen’s School: Iseb pretestChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: ISEB Pre-Tests for 11+ and deferred 13+ candidates (details below)View the official source; creative or extended writing taskCity of London Freemen’s School: Own creative writingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Activities Day (Years 7-10), including a Freemen’s creative writing taskView the official source; school's own English assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own englishChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: take assessments at the School in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning on a Saturday in November of Year 8.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own mathsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: take assessments at the School in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning on a Saturday in November of Year 8.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Own reasoningChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: take assessments at the School in English, Mathematics and Non-Verbal Reasoning on a Saturday in November of Year 8.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolCity of London Freemen’s School: ReferenceChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A confidential school reportView the official source
  • First assessment taken in: Year 6City of London Freemen’s School: Pre test year groupChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: For 11+ (Year 7) and deferred 13+ (Year 9) entry, please also register on the ISEB Guardian Portal to sit the Pre-Tests in the autumn of Year 6.View the official source
  • Offers made early for deferred entry: YesCity of London Freemen’s School: Deferred offerChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: For 11+ (Year 7) and deferred 13+ (Year 9) entry, please also register on the ISEB Guardian Portal to sit the Pre-Tests in the autumn of Year 6.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027City of London Freemen’s School: Current cycleChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Registration closesThursday 1 October 2026City of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Complete the online registration by 1 October the year before entry.View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesCity of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
AssessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
OffersCity of London Freemen’s School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

16+ (sixth form, Year 12)

  • What the school assesses: GCSE grade requirementsCity of London Freemen’s School: Gcse requirementsChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Predicted GCSE grades: an average of 6.0 across seven GCSEs, plus subject-specific requirementsView the official source; group or team activityCity of London Freemen’s School: Group activityChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: At 16+ candidates are invited to the School for a morning including an interview and assessed small group activities.View the official source; interviewCity of London Freemen’s School: InterviewChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A one-to-one interview with a member of the Sixth Form teamView the official source; reference or report from current schoolCity of London Freemen’s School: ReferenceChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A confidential report from the applicant’s current schoolView the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027City of London Freemen’s School: Current cycleChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Registration closesThursday 1 October 2026City of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Complete the online registration by 1 October the year before entry.View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesCity of London Freemen’s School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
AssessmentCity of London Freemen’s School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source
OffersCity of London Freemen’s School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by City of London Freemen's School; last checked 9 Oct 2026.The source says: Key Dates for 2027 EntryView the official source

Key dates

11+ dates for September 2027 entry

City of London Freemen's School

  1. Done: Registration closes for 11+ entry

Dates for the other ways in7+, 13+ and 16+

7+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Registration closes for 7+ entry

13+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Registration closes for 13+ entry

16+ entry, September 2027

  1. Done: Registration closes for 16+ entry

A year younger? 11+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
  1. Not published yet: Registration closes for 11+ entry

    Not yet published, checked 9 Oct 2026

  2. Not published yet: Entrance tests

    Not yet published, checked 9 Oct 2026

  3. Not published yet: Offers sent

    Not yet published, checked 9 Oct 2026

At a glance

City of London Freemen’s School in brief

Help with fees
Yes
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Scholarships
7 kinds
Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
Day or boarding
day pupils and boarders
Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
Ways in
7+, 8+, 9+, 10+, 11+, 13+, 16+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Registration fee
£200VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £8,736 a term, including VAT
7+ entry, day
£7,864 a term, including VAT
8+ entry, day
£7,864 a term, including VAT
9+ entry, day
£7,864 a term, including VAT
10+ entry, day
£7,864 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, day
£8,736 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, flexi boarding
£83 , VAT not included
13+ entry, day
£10,556 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, full boarding
£20,009 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, weekly boarding
£17,990 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, flexi boarding
£83 , VAT not included
16+ entry, day
£11,030 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, full boarding
£20,509 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, weekly boarding
£18,491 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, flexi boarding
£83 , VAT not included

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

fees are published both with and without VAT

Registration fee: £200 (VAT not stated by the school).

Deposit when you accept a day place: £2,000.

Source: City of London Freemen's School, checked

Joining atDayFull boardingWeekly boardingFlexi boarding
7+£7,864 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Form 1 – Lower 3 (Yr 3-6) | £6,553 | £7,864 |View the official source–––
8+£7,864 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Form 1 – Lower 3 (Yr 3-6) | £6,553 | £7,864 |View the official source–––
9+£7,864 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Form 1 – Lower 3 (Yr 3-6) | £6,553 | £7,864 |View the official source–––
10+£7,864 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Form 1 – Lower 3 (Yr 3-6) | £6,553 | £7,864 |View the official source–––
11+£8,736 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Upper 3 – Lower 4 (Yr 7-8) | £7,280 | £8,736 |View the official source––£82.50 per night (excluding VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: Flexi boardingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Ad hoc boarding for day pupils is available at £82.50 per night + VAT, subject to availability.View the official source
13+£10,556 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Upper 4 – Upper 5 (Yr 9-11) | £8,797 | £10,556 |View the official source£20,009 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: BoardingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Full Boarding (Yr 9-11) | £16,674 | £20,009 |View the official source£17,990 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: Weekly boardingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Weekly Boarding (Yr 9-11) | £14,992 | £17,990 |View the official source£82.50 per night (excluding VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: Flexi boardingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Ad hoc boarding for day pupils is available at £82.50 per night + VAT, subject to availability.View the official source
16+£11,030 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Lower 6 – Upper 6 (Yr 12-13) | £9,192 | £11,030 |View the official source£20,509 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: BoardingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Full Boarding (Yr 12-13) | £17,091 | £20,509 |View the official source£18,491 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: Weekly boardingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Weekly Boarding (Yr 12-13) | £15,409 | £18,491 |View the official source£82.50 per night (excluding VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: Flexi boardingChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Ad hoc boarding for day pupils is available at £82.50 per night + VAT, subject to availability.View the official source
  • Registration fee: £200City of London Freemen’s School: Registration feeChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A non-refundable £200 registration fee applies to all applicants.View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (day): £2,000City of London Freemen’s School: Deposit dayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A deposit of £2,000 is payable.View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to a share of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
For academic, art, design and technology, drama, music, other and sport, at 11+, 13+ and 16+ entry, worth up to 5% of the fees.

Source: City of London Freemen's School, checked

  • Scholarships offered: academicCity of London Freemen’s School: AcademicChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: They are designed to nurture talent across a broad spectrum of disciplines including Academic, Sport, Drama, Music, Art and Design & Technology (DT).View the official source, artCity of London Freemen’s School: ArtChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: They are designed to nurture talent across a broad spectrum of disciplines including Academic, Sport, Drama, Music, Art and Design & Technology (DT).View the official source, design and technologyCity of London Freemen’s School: Design technologyChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: They are designed to nurture talent across a broad spectrum of disciplines including Academic, Sport, Drama, Music, Art and Design & Technology (DT).View the official source, dramaCity of London Freemen’s School: DramaChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: They are designed to nurture talent across a broad spectrum of disciplines including Academic, Sport, Drama, Music, Art and Design & Technology (DT).View the official source, musicCity of London Freemen’s School: MusicChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: They are designed to nurture talent across a broad spectrum of disciplines including Academic, Sport, Drama, Music, Art and Design & Technology (DT).View the official source, otherCity of London Freemen’s School: OtherChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: The School currently offers Foundation Scholarships to children (normally between the ages of nine and eleven years of age) of deceased Freemen of the City of London.View the official source, sportCity of London Freemen’s School: SportChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: They are designed to nurture talent across a broad spectrum of disciplines including Academic, Sport, Drama, Music, Art and Design & Technology (DT).View the official source
  • Largest scholarship: up to 5%City of London Freemen’s School: Max percentChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: In addition to a remission on the annual School Fee (currently 5%),View the official source of fees
  • Scholarship entry points: 11+City of London Freemen’s School: 11 plusChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Scholarships are available to students joining the school at the ages of 11+, 13+ and 16+.View the official source, 13+City of London Freemen’s School: 13 plusChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Scholarships are available to students joining the school at the ages of 11+, 13+ and 16+.View the official source, 16+ (sixth form)City of London Freemen’s School: 16 plusChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: Scholarships are available to students joining the school at the ages of 11+, 13+ and 16+.View the official source

Open days

Next: Senior School Working Open Morning, Wed 24 Feb 2027
  1. Coming up: Senior School Working Open Morning

    9:45am-11:45am

  2. Coming up: Junior School Working Open Morning

    10:30am-12:00pm

  3. Coming up: Discover Freemen’s

    Morning Session

  4. Coming up: Discover Freemen’s

    08:45 - 11:45

  5. Coming up: Parents Discover Freemen’s

    9:45am to 11:45am

Source: City of London Freemen's School, checked

What is distinctive about applying to Freemen's

Day fees rise between the junior and senior years: £7,864 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Form 1 – Lower 3 (Yr 3-6) | £6,553 | £7,864 |View the official source at 7+ to 10+, £8,736 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Upper 3 – Lower 4 (Yr 7-8) | £7,280 | £8,736 |View the official source at 11+, and £10,556 per term (including VAT)City of London Freemen’s School: DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: | Upper 4 – Upper 5 (Yr 9-11) | £8,797 | £10,556 |View the official source from 13+. The registration fee is £200City of London Freemen’s School: Registration feeChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: A non-refundable £200 registration fee applies to all applicants.View the official source.

Scholarships carry a modest fee reduction, up to 5%City of London Freemen’s School: Max percentChecked 9 Oct 2026 against City of London Freemen's School.The source says: In addition to a remission on the annual School Fee (currently 5%),View the official source of fees, while means-tested bursaries are the main source of financial help. The school's pages give two different bursary application deadlines, so check the date with the school.

Official documents and sources

16 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with City of London Freemen’s School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page