- Independent school for boys and girls
St John's School, Leatherhead: entry, assessments, dates and fees
Epsom Road, Leatherhead, Surrey KT22 8SP
Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website
Can we apply, and when?
For September 2027 entry
Registration closes, 11+ entry
Sun 1 Nov
Sunday 1 November 2026, for September 2027 entry
Checked, source: St John's School, Leatherhead, checked- Not published
Places
Fees at 11+, day
£10,180a term
2026–27 school year, including VAT
Checked, source: St John's School, Leatherhead, checked
Your next steps for 11+ entry
Next: Registration closes for 11+ entry
in 12 days
Coming up: Scholarship applications close
in 12 days
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Entrance tests
St John's School Leatherhead sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.
How entry works
Ways in, and how children are assessed
St John's School Leatherhead takes new pupils at 11+, 13+ and 16+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.
11+ entry
How children are assessed: an interview, a group activity, a reference from the current school and the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share).
Registration closes: Sunday 1 November 2026 (for September 2027 entry)
Other ways in: 13+ and 16+Places, tests and registration for each
13+ entry
How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, an interview, a group activity, a reference from the current school and the ISEB Common Pre-Test (an online test many independent schools share). Tests are taken in Year 6, with a place offered ahead of entry.
Registration closes: Sunday 1 November 2026 (for September 2029 entry)
16+ entry
How children are assessed: a reasoning paper, an interview, a group activity, a reference from the current school and GCSE grade requirements.
Registration closes: Thursday 15 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)
Source: St John's School, Leatherhead, checked
More about entry from our guide
For 11+ and 13+ entry the school runs one process in Year 6: the ISEB Pre-Test, a reference from the current school, an assessment day with group activities, and an interview. A child applying for 13+ entry in September 2029 therefore follows the same timetable as an 11+ applicant for September 2027.
11+ (Year 7)
- What the school assesses: group or team activitySt John's School Leatherhead: Group activityChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
With the tests already completed, the day is focused on your child engaging in some fun group activities and telling us more about themselves during a friendly one-to-one interview with an experienced staff member.
View the official source; interviewSt John's School Leatherhead: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:With the tests already completed, the day is focused on your child engaging in some fun group activities and telling us more about themselves during a friendly one-to-one interview with an experienced staff member.
View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestSt John's School Leatherhead: Iseb pretestChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:All candidates will sit the online ISEB Common Pre-Tests which are multiple-choice, adaptive and age-standardised tests covering:
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolSt John's School Leatherhead: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:After the registration deadline has passed, we will contact your child’s current school to ask for a confidential reference.
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
We welcome applications for Lower Third (Year 7) September 2027 entry and beyond.
View the official source
Entry in September 2027
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Sunday 1 November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: The closing date for applications is 1 November when your child is in Year 6.View the official source |
| Assessment | Saturday 21 November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Any children who aren’t able to sit the ISEB at their school are welcome to sit their tests at St John’s on 21 November 2026.View the official source |
| Interviews | Monday 4 January 2027 and Tuesday 5 January 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Interview date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: All children who sit the ISEB tests for St John’s will be invited back to take part in our St John’s Experience Days on Monday 4 and Tuesday 5 January 2027.View the official source |
| Offers | February 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Offer date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Offers are made in mid-February of Year 6View the official source |
| Accept an offer by | March 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Acceptance deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: The Acceptance Deadline for offers for Lower Third (11+) 2027 entry will be in early March 2027.View the official source |
| Scholarship application by | Sunday 1 November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Scholarship applications should be received by 1 November when your child is in Year 6.View the official source |
| Scholarship assessment | January 2027 (all scholarship areas (general)); Monday 23 November 2026 (sport stage one (boys)); Friday 27 November 2026 (sport stage one (girls)); Monday 18 January 2027 (sport stage two)St John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Scholarship assessments will be held in the January of Year 6, shortly after the St John’s Experience Day.View the official source |
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | St John's School Leatherhead: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: We welcome applications for Lower Third (Year 7) September 2027 entry and beyond.View the official source |
| Assessment | St John's School Leatherhead: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: We welcome applications for Lower Third (Year 7) September 2027 entry and beyond.View the official source |
| Offers | St John's School Leatherhead: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: We welcome applications for Lower Third (Year 7) September 2027 entry and beyond.View the official source |
13+ (Year 9)
Successful 13+ candidates receive a deferred offer in Year 6 and must accept it by March 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Acceptance deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: The Acceptance Deadline for offers for Fourth Form (13+) 2029 entry will be in early March 2027.
View the official source. Scholarship applications for 13+ come later, by Friday 15 December 2028St John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Scholarship assessments will be held in March/April of Year 8 and scholarship applications should be received by 15 December when your child is in Year 8.
View the official source in Year 8. The month of the 13+ scholarship assessments in Year 8 differs between two of the school's pages, so we are checking it with the school.
- What the school assesses: group or team activitySt John's School Leatherhead: Group activityChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
With the tests already completed, the day is focused on your child engaging in some fun group activities and telling us more about themselves during a friendly one-to-one interview with an experienced staff member.
View the official source; interviewSt John's School Leatherhead: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:With the tests already completed, the day is focused on your child engaging in some fun group activities and telling us more about themselves during a friendly one-to-one interview with an experienced staff member.
View the official source; ISEB Common Pre-TestSt John's School Leatherhead: Iseb pretestChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:All candidates will sit the online ISEB Common Pre-Tests which are multiple-choice, adaptive and age-standardised tests covering:
View the official source; school's own English assessment (late applicants only)St John's School Leatherhead: Own englishChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:Late applicants will be assessed in English, maths and will sit an online abilities assessment.
View the official source; school's own maths assessment (late applicants only)St John's School Leatherhead: Own mathsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:Late applicants will be assessed in English, maths and will sit an online abilities assessment.
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolSt John's School Leatherhead: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:After the registration deadline has passed, we will contact your child’s current school to ask for a confidential reference.
View the official source - First assessment taken in: Year 6St John's School Leatherhead: Pre test year groupChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
The admissions assessments for children looking to join us in Fourth Form (Year 9) are held during a child’s Year 6.
View the official source - Offers made early for deferred entry: YesSt John's School Leatherhead: Deferred offerChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
Offers of deferred places for Fourth Form (Year 9 entry) will be made in mid-February of Year 6.
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2029St John's School Leatherhead: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
We welcome applications for Fourth Form (Year 9) September 2029 entry and beyond.
View the official source
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | St John's School Leatherhead: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Should you wish to apply as a late applicant, please contact Admissions first to find out about current availability before submitting a late application.View the official source |
| Assessment | St John's School Leatherhead: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: The dates of our late applicant sessions will be confirmed in due course but will be held in the Summer Term of Year 7 and Autumn Term of Year 8 if availability allows.View the official source |
| Offers | St John's School Leatherhead: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Should you wish to apply as a late applicant, please contact Admissions first to find out about current availability before submitting a late application.View the official source |
| Bursary application by | Monday 1 November 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Bursary deadline (2028)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: | Fourth Form (Year 9) September 2028 | 1 November 2027* |View the official source |
Entry in September 2029
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Sunday 1 November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Registration deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: The closing date for applications is 1 November when your child is in Year 6.View the official source |
| Assessment | Saturday 21 November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Assessment date (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Any children who aren’t able to sit the ISEB at their school are welcome to sit their tests at St John’s on 21 November 2026.View the official source |
| Interviews | Monday 4 January 2027 and Tuesday 5 January 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Interview date (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: All children who sit the ISEB tests for St John’s will be invited back to take part in our St John’s Experience Days on Monday 4 or Tuesday 5 January 2027.View the official source |
| Offers | February 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Offer date (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Offers of deferred places for Fourth Form (Year 9 entry) will be made in mid-February of Year 6.View the official source |
| Accept an offer by | March 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Acceptance deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: The Acceptance Deadline for offers for Fourth Form (13+) 2029 entry will be in early March 2027.View the official source |
| Scholarship application by | Friday 15 December 2028St John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship deadline (2029)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Scholarship assessments will be held in March/April of Year 8 and scholarship applications should be received by 15 December when your child is in Year 8.View the official source |
| Scholarship assessment | Awaiting confirmationSt John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship assessment date (2029)Official sources disagree; we are confirming this with the publisher.View the official source |
16+ (sixth form, Year 12)
Sixth-form applications close on Thursday 15 October 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: To be considered for a place in the Sixth Form at St John’s, registration and payment of £220 registration fee (or £300 for overseas applications) should be made by 15 October of Year 11.
View the official source, and the school holds its sixth-form assessments on Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry on 2027 will be held on Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026.
View the official source, with offers in December 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Offer date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Conditional places will be offered in early December and will be made on the basis of performance in our entrance assessment, interviews, predicted grades and reference from a candidate’s current school.
View the official source.
- What the school assesses: GCSE grade requirementsSt John's School Leatherhead: Gcse requirementsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
External candidates looking to join us at Sixth Form are expected to achieve a grade average of at least 6.0 across their GCSEs in addition to meeting the specific grade requirements for their chosen A level courses.
View the official source; group or team activitySt John's School Leatherhead: Group activityChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:During their time with us, candidates will have an interview with a member of our Sixth Form team, take part in a group activity and sit an online abilities assessment (covering verbal, non-verbal and numerical reasoning).
View the official source; interviewSt John's School Leatherhead: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:During their time with us, candidates will have an interview with a member of our Sixth Form team, take part in a group activity and sit an online abilities assessment (covering verbal, non-verbal and numerical reasoning).
View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentSt John's School Leatherhead: Own reasoningChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:During their time with us, candidates will have an interview with a member of our Sixth Form team, take part in a group activity and sit an online abilities assessment (covering verbal, non-verbal and numerical reasoning).
View the official source; reference or report from current schoolSt John's School Leatherhead: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:A reference and predicted grades will be requested from each candidate’s current school.
View the official source - The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
Assessments for Sixth Form entry on 2027 will be held on Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026.
View the official source
Entry in September 2027
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | Thursday 15 October 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: To be considered for a place in the Sixth Form at St John’s, registration and payment of £220 registration fee (or £300 for overseas applications) should be made by 15 October of Year 11.View the official source |
| Assessment | Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry on 2027 will be held on Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026.View the official source |
| Offers | December 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Offer date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Conditional places will be offered in early December and will be made on the basis of performance in our entrance assessment, interviews, predicted grades and reference from a candidate’s current school.View the official source |
| Accept an offer by | December 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Acceptance deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: The acceptance deadline for places is in mid-December of Year 11 and on acceptance of the place offered, an Acceptance Deposit and Fee Deposit, as set out in the Fees section, are payable.View the official source |
| Scholarship application by | Thursday 15 October 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Scholarship applications, together with the relevant fee(s), should also be received by the closing date of 15 October in Year 11.View the official source |
| Scholarship assessment | November 2026St John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Assessment date: November of Year 11View the official source |
Entry in September 2028
| Step | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration closes | St John's School Leatherhead: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry on 2027 will be held on Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026.View the official source |
| Assessment | St John's School Leatherhead: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry on 2027 will be held on Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026.View the official source |
| Offers | St John's School Leatherhead: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by St John's School, Leatherhead; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: Assessments for Sixth Form entry on 2027 will be held on Tuesday 3 November 2026 and Tuesday 17 November 2026.View the official source |
Key dates
11+ dates for September 2027 entry
St John's School, Leatherhead
Next: Registration closes for 11+ entry
in 12 days
Coming up: Scholarship applications close
in 12 days
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Entrance tests
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: sport stage one (boys)
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: sport stage one (girls)
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Interviews
Coming up: Scholarship assessments: sport stage two
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Offers sent
Expected
Coming up: Accept or decline an offer by
Expected
Dates for the other ways in13+ and 16+
13+ entry, September 2029
Next: Registration closes for 13+ entry
in 12 days
Coming up: Entrance tests
Coming up: Interviews
Coming up: Offers sent
Expected
Coming up: Accept or decline an offer by
Expected
Coming up: Scholarship applications close
in about 112 weeks
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Not published yet: Scholarship assessments
Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
16+ entry, September 2027
Done: Registration closes for 16+ entry
Done: Scholarship applications close
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Next: Entrance tests
Coming up: Scholarship assessments
Expected
Only if you are applying for a scholarship
Coming up: Offers sent
Expected
Coming up: Accept or decline an offer by
Expected
A year younger? 11+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
Not published yet: Registration closes for 11+ entry
Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Entrance tests
Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026
Not published yet: Offers sent
Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026
At a glance
St John's School Leatherhead in brief
tap a value for its source
- Ages
- 11 to 18AgesChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
St John's School Leatherhead is a leading co-educational independent day and boarding school in Surrey for pupils aged 11 to 18.
View the official source - The ages the school teaches, from youngest to oldest.
- Scholarships
- 6 kinds
- Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
- Day or boarding
- day pupils and boarders
- Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
- Ways in
- 11+, 13+, 16+
- The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
- Help with fees
- Yes, up to 100%
- Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
- Registration fee
- £220VAT not stated by the school
- Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.
Fees
From £10,180 a term, including VAT
- 11+ entry, day
- £10,180 a term, including VAT
- 13+ entry, day
- £11,570 a term, including VAT
- 16+ entry, day
- £11,570 a term, including VAT
Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.
fees are published both with and without VAT
Registration fee: £220 (VAT not stated by the school).
Deposit when you accept a day place: £1,500.
Source: St John's School, Leatherhead, checked
Boarding at St John's is charged on top of the day fee. The charge depends on how many nights a week a pupil boards, and the school publishes a separate amount for every term.
| Joining at | Day | Boarding (added to tuition) |
|---|---|---|
| 11+ | £10,180 per term (including VAT)St John's School Leatherhead: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: | Termly Lower School Fee inc VAT | £10,180 |View the official source | £3,140 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £2,660 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £2,415 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £2,180 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £1,845 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £1,675 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £1,145 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £970 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £880 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Summer 2027 (10 weeks))St John's School Leatherhead: Boarding supplementChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: | Three regular nights | £3,140 (inc VAT) | £2,660 (inc VAT) | £2,415 (inc VAT) |View the official source |
| 13+ | £11,570 per term (including VAT)St John's School Leatherhead: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: | Termly Senior School Fee inc VAT | £11,570 |View the official source | £3,690 per term (including VAT) (weekly boarding, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £3,120 per term (including VAT) (weekly boarding, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £2,835 per term (including VAT) (weekly boarding, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £3,140 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £2,660 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £2,415 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £2,180 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £1,845 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £1,675 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £1,145 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £970 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £880 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Summer 2027 (10 weeks))St John's School Leatherhead: Boarding supplementChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: | Weekly Boarding (Senior School only) | £3,690 (inc VAT) | £3,120 (inc VAT) | £2,835 (inc VAT) |View the official source |
| 16+ | £11,570 per term (including VAT)St John's School Leatherhead: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: | Termly Senior School Fee inc VAT | £11,570 |View the official source | £3,690 per term (including VAT) (weekly boarding, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £3,120 per term (including VAT) (weekly boarding, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £2,835 per term (including VAT) (weekly boarding, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £3,140 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £2,660 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £2,415 per term (including VAT) (three regular nights, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £2,180 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £1,845 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £1,675 per term (including VAT) (two regular nights, Summer 2027 (10 weeks)); £1,145 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Autumn 2026 (13 weeks)); £970 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Spring 2027 (11 weeks)); £880 per term (including VAT) (one regular night, Summer 2027 (10 weeks))St John's School Leatherhead: Boarding supplementChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: | Weekly Boarding (Senior School only) | £3,690 (inc VAT) | £3,120 (inc VAT) | £2,835 (inc VAT) |View the official source |
- Registration fee: £220St John's School Leatherhead: Registration feeChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
| Registration Fee Payable on registration and non-refundable | £220 |
View the official source - Acceptance deposit (day): £1,500St John's School Leatherhead: Deposit dayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
| Acceptance Deposit Payable by the parents of each pupil on acceptance of a place. | £1,500 |
View the official source - Acceptance deposit (boarding): £1,500St John's School Leatherhead: Deposit boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
Acceptance Deposit Payable by the parents of each pupil on acceptance of a place. | £1,500
View the official source
Bursaries and scholarships
Bursaries up to 100% of fees
- Bursaries (help with fees)
- Available, up to 100% of the fees. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
- Scholarships
- For academic, art, design and technology, drama, music and sport, at 11+, 13+ and 16+ entry.
Source: St John's School, Leatherhead, checked
- Largest bursary: up to 100%St John's School Leatherhead: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
In some cases the School may provide a free place.
View the official source of fees, means-tested - Scholarships offered: academicSt John's School Leatherhead: AcademicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
We offer Academic Scholarships at 11+ (Lower Third/Year 7), 13+ (Fourth Form/Year 9) and 16+ (Sixth Form/Year 12) entry to pupils who excel academically, are intellectually curious, and committed to broadening their knowledge beyond the classroom.
View the official source, artSt John's School Leatherhead: ArtChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:Art
View the official source, design and technologySt John's School Leatherhead: Design technologyChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:Design & Engineering
View the official source, dramaSt John's School Leatherhead: DramaChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:Performing Arts – Music – Drama/Musical Theatre/Dance
View the official source, musicSt John's School Leatherhead: MusicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:Performing Arts – Music – Drama/Musical Theatre/Dance
View the official source, sportSt John's School Leatherhead: SportChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:Sport
View the official source - Scholarship entry points: 11+St John's School Leatherhead: 11 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:
We are pleased to award scholarships at 11+ (Lower Third/Year 7), 13+ (Fourth Form/Year 9) and 16+ (Sixth Form/Year 12) entry in the following areas:
View the official source, 13+St John's School Leatherhead: 13 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:We are pleased to award scholarships at 11+ (Lower Third/Year 7), 13+ (Fourth Form/Year 9) and 16+ (Sixth Form/Year 12) entry in the following areas:
View the official source, 16+ (sixth form)St John's School Leatherhead: 16 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says:We are pleased to award scholarships at 11+ (Lower Third/Year 7), 13+ (Fourth Form/Year 9) and 16+ (Sixth Form/Year 12) entry in the following areas:
View the official source
Open days
Next: Discover Event, Fri 12 Mar 2027
Done: Discover Event (passed)
9:15 - 11:00 AM
Coming up: Discover Event
9:15 - 11:00 AM
Coming up: Whole School
9:00 - 11:00 AM; 11:00 - 1:00 PM
Coming up: Discover Event
9:15 - 11:00 AM
Source: St John's School, Leatherhead, checked
What is distinctive about applying to St John's
Interviews and group activities for 11+ and 13+ candidates take place at the experience days on Monday 4 January 2027 and Tuesday 5 January 2027St John's School Leatherhead: Interview date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: All children who sit the ISEB tests for St John’s will be invited back to take part in our St John’s Experience Days on Monday 4 and Tuesday 5 January 2027.
View the official source, and 11+ scholarship assessments follow in January 2027 (all scholarship areas (general)); Monday 23 November 2026 (sport stage one (boys)); Friday 27 November 2026 (sport stage one (girls)); Monday 18 January 2027 (sport stage two)St John's School Leatherhead: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: Scholarship assessments will be held in the January of Year 6, shortly after the St John’s Experience Day.
View the official source.
Bursaries are means-tested and can cover up to 100%St John's School Leatherhead: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against St John's School, Leatherhead.The source says: In some cases the School may provide a free place.
View the official source of fees. The school does not publish a maximum scholarship value as a share of fees, so ask the admissions team what an award would be worth.
Official documents and sources
12 sources, each kept as an archived copy
- Department for Education (Get Information about Schools)
Spreadsheet · copy archived by ExamKind on 11 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
PDF document · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
- St John's School, Leatherhead
Web page · copy archived by ExamKind on 9 Oct 2026
ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with St John's School Leatherhead, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page