Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • Independent school for girls

Queenswood School: entry, assessments, dates and fees

Queenswood Shepherd's Way Brookmans Park Hatfield Hertfordshire AL9 6NS United Kingdom

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial TeamSchool website

Can we apply, and when?

For September 2027 entry

  • Registration closes, 11+ entry

    Thu 1 Oct

    Thursday 1 October 2026, for September 2027 entry

    Checked, source: Queenswood School, checked
  • Places

    Not published
  • Fees at 11+, day

    £9,720a term

    2026–27 school year, including VAT

    Checked, source: Queenswood School, checked

Your next steps for 11+ entry

  1. Next: Bursary applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for help with fees

  2. Coming up: Scholarship applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  3. Coming up: Entrance tests

Queenswood School sets its own tests and decides after them and the interviews. We have not found a published pass mark, so we do not show one.

How entry works

Ways in, and how children are assessed

Queenswood School takes new pupils at 11+, 13+ and 16+. Each way in has its own tests and dates.

  • 11+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, a reasoning paper, an interview and a reference from the current school.

    Registration closes: Thursday 1 October 2026 (for September 2027 entry)

Other ways in: 13+ and 16+Places, tests and registration for each
  • 13+ entry

    How children are assessed: an English paper, a maths paper, an interview, a reference from the current school and own subject papers.

  • 16+ entry

    How children are assessed: an interview and a reference from the current school.

Source: Queenswood School, checked

More about entry from our guide

Queenswood plans to open a girls' prep school, with a first intake intended for September 2028. We will cover it as a separate school once it publishes its admissions details, so this page deals with senior entry only.

11+ (Year 7)

  • What the school assesses: interviewQueenswood School: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Entry to Queenswood is based on an entrance assessment, an interview and a positive reference from the Headteacher of your daughter's current school.View the official source; school's own English assessmentQueenswood School: Own englishChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Girls sit entrance papers in English, Mathematics and Verbal Reasoning at Queenswood in the November prior to entry.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentQueenswood School: Own mathsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Girls sit entrance papers in English, Mathematics and Verbal Reasoning at Queenswood in the November prior to entry.View the official source; school's own reasoning assessmentQueenswood School: Own reasoningChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Girls sit entrance papers in English, Mathematics and Verbal Reasoning at Queenswood in the November prior to entry.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolQueenswood School: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Entry to Queenswood is based on an entrance assessment, an interview and a positive reference from the Headteacher of your daughter's current school.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Queenswood School: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: 11+ Entry for September 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
Registration closesThursday 1 October 2026Queenswood School: Registration deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Thursday 1 October | Registration deadline |View the official source
AssessmentWednesday 4 November 2026 and Thursday 12 November 2026Queenswood School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Wednesday 4 November | Assessment day (1 of 2) NB – you will be allocated one of these days after the registration deadline has passed) | | Thursday 12 November | Assessment day (2 of 2) |View the official source
Accept an offer byMonday 1 March 2027Queenswood School: Acceptance deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Monday 1 March | Deadline for written confirmation of acceptance from parents |View the official source
Bursary application byFriday 23 October 2026Queenswood School: Bursary deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: The deadline for Bursary applications for 2027 entry is Friday 23 October 2026.View the official source
Scholarship application byFriday 23 October 2026Queenswood School: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: The deadline for submission is Friday 23 October 2026.View the official source
Scholarship assessmentMonday 16 November 2026 and Monday 23 November 2026Queenswood School: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Weeks commencing 16 and 23 November | Scholarship assessment weeks |View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesQueenswood School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 11+ Entry for September 2027View the official source
AssessmentQueenswood School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 11+ Entry for September 2027View the official source
OffersQueenswood School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 11+ Entry for September 2027View the official source

13+ (Year 9)

Year 9 applicants are assessed on Tuesday 10 November 2026Queenswood School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Tuesday 10 November | Entrance exams |View the official source.

  • What the school assesses: interviewQueenswood School: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Every applicant has an interview with the Principal or another senior member of staff.View the official source; school's own English assessmentQueenswood School: Own englishChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: They also sit entrance papers in English and Mathematics.View the official source; school's own maths assessmentQueenswood School: Own mathsChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: They also sit entrance papers in English and Mathematics.View the official source; subject papersQueenswood School: Own subject papersChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Applicants for 13+ entry who have already studied French or Spanish will also take a language paper in their chosen subject.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolQueenswood School: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Entry to Queenswood is based on an entrance assessment, an interview and a positive reference from the Headteacher of your daughter's current school.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Queenswood School: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: 12+/13+/14+ Entry for September 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
AssessmentTuesday 10 November 2026Queenswood School: Assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Tuesday 10 November | Entrance exams |View the official source
Accept an offer byMonday 1 March 2027Queenswood School: Acceptance deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Monday 1 March | Acceptance deadline for 13+ |View the official source
Bursary application byFriday 23 October 2026Queenswood School: Bursary deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: The deadline for Bursary applications for 2027 entry is Friday 23 October 2026.View the official source
Scholarship application byFriday 23 October 2026Queenswood School: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: The deadline for submission is Friday 23 October 2026.View the official source
Scholarship assessmentMonday 16 November 2026 and Monday 23 November 2026Queenswood School: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Weeks commencing 16 and 23 November | Scholarship assessment weeks |View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesQueenswood School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 12+/13+/14+ Entry for September 2027View the official source
AssessmentQueenswood School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 12+/13+/14+ Entry for September 2027View the official source
OffersQueenswood School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 12+/13+/14+ Entry for September 2027View the official source

16+ (sixth form, Year 12)

Sixth-form interviews are on Tuesday 10 November 2026Queenswood School: Interview date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Tuesday 10 November | Interviews |View the official source. The school's pages describe the GCSE requirements for the sixth form in two different ways, so we are checking that with the school.

  • What the school assesses: interviewQueenswood School: InterviewChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Sixth Form offers are based on a positive reference from your current school, an interview with the Head of Sixth Form and/or the Principal, and your predicted GCSE grades.View the official source; reference or report from current schoolQueenswood School: ReferenceChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Sixth Form offers are based on a positive reference from your current school, an interview with the Head of Sixth Form and/or the Principal, and your predicted GCSE grades.View the official source
  • The school’s current admissions information covers: entry in September 2027Queenswood School: Current cycleChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: 16+ Entry for September 2027View the official source

Entry in September 2027

StepDate
InterviewsTuesday 10 November 2026Queenswood School: Interview date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Tuesday 10 November | Interviews |View the official source
Bursary application byFriday 23 October 2026Queenswood School: Bursary deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: The deadline for Bursary applications for 2027 entry is Friday 23 October 2026.View the official source
Scholarship application byFriday 23 October 2026Queenswood School: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: The deadline for submission is Friday 23 October 2026.View the official source
Scholarship assessmentMonday 16 November 2026 and Monday 23 November 2026Queenswood School: Scholarship assessment date (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Weeks commencing 16 and 23 November | Scholarship assessment weeks |View the official source

Entry in September 2028

StepDate
Registration closesQueenswood School: Registration deadline (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 16+ Entry for September 2027View the official source
AssessmentQueenswood School: Assessment date (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 16+ Entry for September 2027View the official source
OffersQueenswood School: Offer date (2028)Not yet published by Queenswood School; last checked 10 Oct 2026.The source says: 16+ Entry for September 2027View the official source

Key dates

11+ dates for September 2027 entry

Queenswood School

  1. Done: Registration closes for 11+ entry

  2. Next: Bursary applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for help with fees

  3. Coming up: Scholarship applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  4. Coming up: Entrance tests

  5. Coming up: Scholarship assessments

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  6. Coming up: Accept or decline an offer by

    in about 19 weeks

Dates for the other ways in13+ and 16+

13+ entry, September 2027

  1. Next: Bursary applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for help with fees

  2. Coming up: Scholarship applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  3. Coming up: Entrance tests

  4. Coming up: Scholarship assessments

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  5. Coming up: Accept or decline an offer by

    in about 19 weeks

16+ entry, September 2027

  1. Next: Bursary applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for help with fees

  2. Coming up: Scholarship applications close

    in 3 days

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

  3. Coming up: Interviews

  4. Coming up: Scholarship assessments

    Only if you are applying for a scholarship

A year younger? 11+ dates for September 2028 entrySome are not published yet; we show what the school has said.
  1. Not published yet: Registration closes for 11+ entry

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

  2. Not published yet: Entrance tests

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

  3. Not published yet: Offers sent

    Not yet published, checked 10 Oct 2026

At a glance

Queenswood School in brief

Scholarships
7 kinds
Awards for a talent, such as academic work, music or sport.
Day or boarding
day pupils and boarders
Whether pupils go home each day or can live at the school.
Ways in
11+, 13+, 16+
The ages at which the school takes new pupils (4+, 11+ and so on).
Help with fees
Yes, up to 100%
Bursaries reduce fees for families on lower incomes, after a check of income and savings.
Registration fee
£130VAT not stated by the school
Paid to the school when you register your child for its tests.

Fees

From £9,720 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, day
£9,720 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, full boarding
£13,785 a term, including VAT
11+ entry, weekly boarding
£11,565 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, day
£11,795 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, full boarding
£18,815 a term, including VAT
13+ entry, weekly boarding
£15,425 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, day
£11,795 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, full boarding
£18,815 a term, including VAT
16+ entry, weekly boarding
£15,425 a term, including VAT

Fees for the 2026–27 school year, as the school publishes them. We never add or remove VAT.

the published fees include VAT

Registration fee: £130 (VAT not stated by the school).

Deposit when you accept a day place: £1,000.

Source: Queenswood School, checked

Joining atDayFull boardingWeekly boardingFlexi boarding
11+£9,720 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Year 7 | £9,720 | £10,090 | £10,415 | £10,710 | £11,565 | £13,785 |View the official source£13,785 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Year 7 | £9,720 | £10,090 | £10,415 | £10,710 | £11,565 | £13,785 |View the official source£11,565 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: Weekly boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Year 7 | £9,720 | £10,090 | £10,415 | £10,710 | £11,565 | £13,785 |View the official source£10,090 per term (including VAT) (1 night); £10,415 per term (including VAT) (2 nights); £10,710 per term (including VAT) (3 nights)Queenswood School: Flexi boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Year 7 | £9,720 | £10,090 | £10,415 | £10,710 | £11,565 | £13,785 |View the official source
13+£11,795 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source£18,815 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source£15,425 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: Weekly boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source£12,765 per term (including VAT) (1 night); £13,555 per term (including VAT) (2 nights); £14,350 per term (including VAT) (3 nights)Queenswood School: Flexi boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source
16+£11,795 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: DayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source£18,815 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: BoardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source£15,425 per term (including VAT)Queenswood School: Weekly boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source£12,765 per term (including VAT) (1 night); £13,555 per term (including VAT) (2 nights); £14,350 per term (including VAT) (3 nights)Queenswood School: Flexi boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Years 9–13* | £11,795 | £12,765 | £13,555 | £14,350 | £15,425 | £18,815 |View the official source
  • Registration fee: £130Queenswood School: Registration feeChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: For UK and overseas one-term students, the Registration Fee is £130.View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (day): £1,000Queenswood School: Deposit dayChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: To accept the offer of a place, parents must pay an acceptance deposit of £1,000.View the official source
  • Acceptance deposit (boarding): £1,000Queenswood School: Deposit boardingChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: To accept the offer of a place, parents must pay an acceptance deposit of £1,000.View the official source

Bursaries and scholarships

Bursaries up to 100% of fees
Bursaries (help with fees)
Available, up to 100% of the fees. They depend on a check of household income and savings.
Scholarships
For academic, all rounder, art, drama, music, other and sport, at 11+, 13+ and 16+ entry, worth up to 50% of the fees.

Source: Queenswood School, checked

  • Largest bursary: up to 100%Queenswood School: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: They may, in exceptional circumstances, be awarded for up to 100% of tuition (day fees).View the official source of fees, means-tested
  • Scholarships offered: academicQueenswood School: AcademicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Our Academic Scholarship programme gives the academically gifted a sense of identity and purpose as they reach towards ever higher levels of achievement.View the official source, all-rounderQueenswood School: All rounderChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: For candidates who show exceptional ability in more than one area, the Principal may offer an all-round excellence award or a combination of scholarships.View the official source, artQueenswood School: ArtChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: As a 21st-Century Art Scholar, you will be at the forefront of creative explorationView the official source, dramaQueenswood School: DramaChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Drama ScholarshipsView the official source, musicQueenswood School: MusicChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: applications for Music and Sport Scholarships and the Tennis Performance Programme must be supported by references from teachers or coachesView the official source, otherQueenswood School: OtherChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Dance ScholarshipsView the official source, sportQueenswood School: SportChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Sports Scholarships may be awarded to individuals who show potential, talent, and commitment in any major sport currently offered by the school.View the official source
  • Largest scholarship: up to 50% (Sixth Form Academic Award; a standard scholarship is a 10% fee reduction, and combined awards are capped at 30% unless stated otherwise)Queenswood School: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Every Queenswood scholarship includes a 10% reduction in fees and access to our inspiring Scholars’ Programme.View the official source of fees
  • Scholarship entry points: 11+Queenswood School: 11 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: There is no application form for the 11+ Academic Scholarship; all pupils who sit our entrance exams in November will be automatically considered for the Scholarship programme.View the official source, 13+Queenswood School: 13 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: | Weeks commencing 16 and 23 November | Scholarship assessment weeks |View the official source, 16+ (sixth form)Queenswood School: 16 plusChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Queenswood Sixth Form Academic Awards offer a fee remission of up to 50% of day fees.View the official source

Open days

Not published yet

We could not find dated open events on the school’s pages we checked. The school’s admissions team can tell you about visits.

What is distinctive about applying to Queenswood

One deadline, Friday 23 October 2026Queenswood School: Scholarship deadline (2027)Checked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: The deadline for submission is Friday 23 October 2026.View the official source, covers scholarship and bursary applications for 11+, 13+ and 16+ entry. Bursaries can cover up to 100%Queenswood School: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: They may, in exceptional circumstances, be awarded for up to 100% of tuition (day fees).View the official source of fees.

Each scholarship brings a fee reduction, and the school gives the largest award as 50% (Sixth Form Academic Award; a standard scholarship is a 10% fee reduction, and combined awards are capped at 30% unless stated otherwise)Queenswood School: Max percentChecked 10 Oct 2026 against Queenswood School.The source says: Every Queenswood scholarship includes a 10% reduction in fees and access to our inspiring Scholars’ Programme.View the official source. Direct entrants to the sixth form pay a termly surcharge on top of the fees shown below.

Official documents and sources

13 sources, each kept as an archived copy

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with Queenswood School, its council or any test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts · Report an error on this page