Skip to main content
Search ExamKind
Reading options
Colours
Reading comfort
Background tint

Saved in a cookie on this device only.

  • 11+ area guide

London 11+: the boroughs with grammar schools

Facts checked 19 October 2026By ExamKind Editorial Team

Some details are being re-checked

We check every fact against the official source on a schedule, and some details on this page are due their next check (last verified 19 October 2026). We'll update the page if anything has changed. How we check facts

The London 11+ at a glance

  • Schools on this page

    19

    Schools we cover across these areas

Each area has its own test: choose one

How places are given

Each area sets its own test

There is no single London 11+. Each area below has its own tests, dates and admission rules, and its guide gives the checked details.

You apply for school places through your home council, on its Common Application Form (CAF), by its deadline. Name the schools in your real order of preference: councils look at every preference at the same time.

Pass marks in each London area

The areas

Tests and dates in each London area

Each area publishes its own test dates and deadlines. Open an area for every step and date.

The schools

How far offers reached at each school

Listed A to Z, with the furthest distance offers reached in the latest year. Each school uses its own admission rules, so a longer distance does not mean a place is easier to get: distance only counts within the last rule a school reached.

Listed A to Z by school name.

  1. Beths Grammar SchoolBoys

    Offers reached 6.55 miles2025 entry

    Rule not stated · 192 places

  2. Bexley Grammar SchoolBoys and girls

    Offers reached 1.847 miles2026 entry

    Rule not stated · 210 places

  3. Chislehurst and Sidcup Grammar SchoolBoys and girls

    Offers reached 3.086 miles2026 entry

    Rule not stated · 192 places

  4. Ilford County High SchoolBoys

    Lowest score offered: 106.02 (aggregate score), 2026 entry

    106.02

    180 places, 2027 entry

  5. Newstead Wood SchoolGirls

    No distance published

    –

    168 places, 2027 entry

  6. Nonsuch High School for GirlsGirls

    No distance published

    –

    210 places, 2027 entry

  7. Queen Elizabeth's School, BarnetBoys

    No distance published

    –

    180 places, 2027 entry

  8. St Michael's Catholic Grammar SchoolGirls

    No distance published

    –

    128 places, 2027 entry

  9. St. Olave's Grammar SchoolBoys

    No distance published

    –

    124 places, 2027 entry

  10. Sutton Grammar SchoolBoys

    No distance published

    –

  11. The Henrietta Barnett SchoolGirls

    No distance published

    –

    120 places, 2027 entry

  12. The Latymer SchoolBoys and girls

    No distance published

    –

    192 places, 2028 entry

  13. The Tiffin Girls’ SchoolGirls

    No distance published

    –

    180 places, 2027 entry

  14. Tiffin SchoolBoys

    No distance published

    –

    180 places, 2027 entry

  15. Townley Grammar SchoolGirls

    Offers reached 7.076 miles2026 entry

    Rule not stated · 224 places

  16. Wallington County Grammar SchoolBoys

    No distance published

    –

    150 places, 2027 entry

  17. Wallington High School for GirlsGirls

    No distance published

    –

    210 places, 2027 entry

  18. Wilson’s SchoolBoys

    No distance published

    –

    186 places, 2027 entry

  19. Woodford County High School for GirlsGirls

    Lowest score offered: 110.62 (aggregate score), 2026 entry

    110.62

    180 places, 2027 entry

Source: London Borough of Bexley, checked Each school's own page names its source. Distances are measured by each school's own method, so compare with care.

More about the schools from our guide

Listed A to Z by school name, with the guide that covers each one.

Live near a border?

  • You can apply for schools in another council's area. You still apply through your own home council, on its form.
  • Each area runs its own test, with its own registration and dates. If you like schools in two areas, check both registration deadlines.
  • Schools often give priority to children living nearby or in a catchment area, so check each school's rules before you rely on it.

Areas in the same part of the country: Berkshire, South West Herts

Find your borough's guide

Listed A to Z by borough.

  • Barnet. No shared test. Queen Elizabeth's School, The Henrietta Barnett School and St Michael's Catholic Grammar School each run their own.
  • Bexley. One shared test, the Bexley Selection Test, for Beths Grammar School, Bexley Grammar School, Chislehurst and Sidcup Grammar School and Townley Grammar School.
  • Bromley. No shared test. St. Olave's Grammar School and Newstead Wood School each set their own, and you register with the school.
  • Enfield. The Latymer School runs its own entrance test.
  • Kingston upon Thames. Tiffin School and The Tiffin Girls' School each run their own two-stage test.
  • Redbridge. The council runs one test for Ilford County High School and Woodford County High School.
  • Sutton. One shared first test, the Selective Eligibility Test (SET), then a second stage for the borough's grammar schools.

You do not have to live in a school's borough to apply, so look at every school your child could travel to, and check each school's rules on where applicants live.

Planning across more than one borough

  • Register for each test separately. Because the tests are separate, a result from one does not count for another. If you are considering schools in two boroughs, your child sits both tests, and you register for each one in its own window.
  • The timetables differ. Some tests are sat in two stages, and some registration windows close in the spring or summer of Year 5. Each borough guide lists its dates, and our 11+ dates for every area page puts them side by side.
  • Each school has its own admission rules. Some give priority to children who live close by or in a set area, some rank every child by score, and some keep places for children eligible for the pupil premium. Where you live can matter as much as the score, so read each school's rules before you rely on it.

One application for every London school

Registering for a test is not applying for a place. However many tests your child sits, you make one application to your home council: the council for the area where you live, even if the schools you want are in another borough. London councils share one online system for this. Apply by 31 OctoberSchool place applications close (common application form, CAF)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against GOV.UK.The source says: You must apply for a secondary school place by 31 October.View the official source, naming schools in your real order of preference. Offers come on National Offer Day, 1 March (or the next working day if 1 March is a weekend or bank holiday)National Offer DayChecked 9 Oct 2026 against GOV.UK.The source says: If either date falls on a weekend or a bank holiday, offers are sent the next working day.View the official source.

Admission authorities must take all reasonable steps to tell you the test outcome before the 31 OctoberSchool place applications close (common application form, CAF)Checked 9 Oct 2026 against GOV.UK.The source says: You must apply for a secondary school place by 31 October.View the official source deadline. That gives you time to decide which schools to name. Our guide to secondary school applications explains the form step by step.

Looking at independent schools too?

Many London independent schools set their own entrance tests, and a group of them shares one through the London 11+ Consortium. Those tests and dates are separate from everything on this page. See selective independent schools in London and the London 11+ Consortium test explained.

Official sources

1 sources: the council, the test administrator and each school

ExamKind is independent. We are not connected with any council, school or test provider, and nobody pays to appear on this page. How we check facts